Val's Hungarian Jewish Chopped Liver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Val, how do I thank you. My Jewish husband asked me to make chopped liver when we were planning to entertain some of our Jewish friends. I had never made any kind of liver, so I didn't even know where to begin. I found your recipe and followed it to the letter, even down to the Hungarian Paprika (which was wonderful). Everyone raved about the chopped liver, and there was not a drop left. I was worried when I saw the first person reach for the liver, but when she commented that it was wonderful, everyone stood at the dish, eating until it was gone. Thank You Val, for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
I made this for my in-laws on Mother’s Day and it was a hit. The only thing I changed, to make this recipe more traditional, was I use chicken fat instead of oleo. My in-laws couldn’t get enough. It’s a little time consuming but worth every minute. I will definitely be making this again. My husband said, “It’s the best he’s ever had”!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
This is an amazing recipe! I never thought I'd be able to top my mother's famous Jewish chopped liver, but, well, sorry mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
Looked for a good recipe for this forever, and this is it..Simply wonderful. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2000
traditional and delicious! This will easily serve 12 as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
5 stars isn't enough! I made this for an appetizer and served with small pita breads and thinly sliced pumpernickel bread. I did omit the additional white onion and parsley in the mixture. My husband saw it in the fridge before the company got here and had a sandwich prior to dinner! He ate so much chicken liver that night, I thought he was going to grow feathers! Keeper? Definatly....and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
This turned out very good. I may have over salted it a bit, but I rectified that by adding about a quarter cup of white wine. This made it really good and helped the consistency as well. Don't rate this recipe until you've tried it chilled, the flavor really comes together. Everyone I shared it with loved it! It was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2000
This is the real thing. Tastes just like my mother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2001
I tried this receipe and I liked it. but I make it without the eggs and it is really easy to prepare .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
I made this for my hubby hoping to enojy it myself. I couldn't eat it b/c i still remember what it looked like uncooked! Smells good but VERY dry! Not at all like i've eaten before or expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZYJ212

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States