Valentine's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This recipe was delicious! I tweaked it a little bit to fit my tastes. Instead of a graham cracker crust I used an Oreo pre-made crust. Delicious! I also used light cream cheese and fat free Cool Whip. To the cool whip/cream cheese mixture, I still added the vanilla extract, but also added some sugar free vanilla pudding mix (just the powder). It makes it even better! I also layered the pie-bottom with cream cheese mixture, topped with "light" cherry pie filling, another lay er of cream cheese and finished off with a top layer of cherries! If you love cherries and do the layering technique--I would suggest 2 cans of cherry pie filling. All in all--recipe was awesome! Boyfriend and I loved it! Perfect Valentine's Day dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by psiluv2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I've brought tons of desserts to my workplace for years, much to the delight of my co-workers, but this holiday recipe just brought the house down on February 14th! The really nice thing, though, is that you can make it any time of the year ... and that's why I made and brought another one the very next day - with the same positive reception from everyone who loved it the first time! An outstanding recipe that I'll never stop making - Thanks, Karela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2000
This is a very light and fluffy pie. Taste wonderful. Excellent for Valentine's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I followed the recipe as directed only using reduced fat cream cheese and "free" whipped topping. I also made my own crust and strawberry topping. WAY too sweet for us. I think this would be much better as a frozen pie without the topping. As it was, the filling was goopy and flavor-wise, it was like melted soft-serve. It was a quick pie (after my cupcakes bombed) that could be made lighter and more personal but it just wasn't a hit with us. NOTE: And so my review isn't misunderstood, I've made pies like this with fat free ingredients and had a good outcome. I think what my issue could have been was the confectioners sugar. When I make this with granulated sugar, I don't have that issue. It's like whipping butter with sugar, it fills with air and "puffs". This didn't do that. It was gloppy and overly sweet. Maybe too much of the confectioners sugar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Easy to make and the whole family loved it. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
YUMMY! Though I recomend using a bigger pie crust oh my goodness the yummy goodness was spilling over the sides lol. My hubby doesn't do chocolate so I am always on the lookout for great recipes w/o chocolate This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This recipe is my grandmothers french cherry pie, I make this on holdiay's and everyone who tastes it LOVES it and wants the recipe, i use the Comstock cherries, It tastes like a lighter version of cheese cake. pure heaven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MELANIE ~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stoneham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I'am 48 years old and you are right this is the best recipe my mother made this every Christmas, when I was a child she call it Cherry Delight and used the box mix to make the cool whip. I also make this during the winter and Christmas this pie is the Bomb! I did ever think I would see this recipe anywhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
This is one pie that is easy to make. I would recommend using the "light" cherry pie filling which has less sugar- it compliments the sweetness of the filling. Looks beautiful and is sure to make your valentine smile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was so great it didn't even make it to Valentine's Day I had to make a second one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZombieT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States