Valentine's Day Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Wow, these are delicious! Just the right amount of sweet and sour, the lemon offsets the strawberries very very well! Usually I'm worried that the sugar is too much but I didn't change a thing (well, I used brown sugar) and it worked perfectly. I made regular and mini muffins and as I used a convection oven baked them at 165C (20 minutes for the mini muffins). These are so moist and tangy and sweet, just so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
These were very good. Yummy. Thank you for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Photo by Sarah Braun Otten
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
These turned out great! I left out the chocolate chips and they were still really yummy. I used a silicone heart-shaped muffin pan that I had and they came out with a cute heart-shape. I'll definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Braun Otten

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
These are really good. I was lazy and didn't put the strawberries on top and instead sprinkled them with red and white sugar crystal sprinkles. Everyone was surprised at how good strawberries taste in a muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alawight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lareinamab
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I cut the recipe in half and made 24 mini muffins. I used raspberries instead of strawberries in the batter and cut strawberry halves into heart shapes to put on top. I used lemon juice in place of extract and had no zest. I replaced a third of the white sugar with brown sugar. Oh, and no chocolate chips. Tasty. Second batch: Made the same way but will all strawberries, and I was out of milk so I subbed a 1:1 cream:water mix. They came out mushy and falling apart, I think because I used the full amount of strawberries and didn't cut them very small. But this is a good recipe for using up strawberries that will otherwise go bad in the fridge or that are too ripe for my sensitive stomach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
These were delicious! Followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
These were very good. I gave it a lower score, only because of the changes I made to the recipe. Nice flavour and moist! I changed a few things because of what I had on hand. I used 2 cups of pureed strawberries (which I had had frozen since last summer) instead of the 1.5 cups of chopped. Also, I used 1/2 whole wheat flour. I didn't have lemon extract so I used pulp form fresh lemons (just a little less). Instead of chocolate chips, I used 1 cup fine unsweetened coconut. Finally I added a spoonful of coconut merengie to the top (2 egg whites, 1/2 cup icing sugar, and 3/4 cup coconut). It added a nice variety of texture to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I made these for the family for Valentine's Day. I followed the recipe exactly, including the chocolate chips. I thought they were ok. They were a bit bland- the sugar flavor predominates, not the strawberry or even lemon flavor, and the texture was a little weird (almost rubbery?). My kids were not big fans, which surprised me because I thought they would like them best of all. I know that strawberries are difficult to bake with, so maybe that was part of it. Anyway, it is clear that other people liked this recipe very much so perhaps it is just that my preference is different, but I will look elsewhere next time. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I cut this recipe in half for 12 muffins. I followed the recipe closely, only increasing both the baking powder and baking soda. I did not sprinkle the additional sugar over each muffin. Baked at 350*, my muffins were done at 22 minutes. Very "wet" muffin--like overly moist. Even after they were done, the edges stuck to the pan terribly(even when I sprayed the pan well with non-stick spray) and after they sat, they sank. I'm sure more flour would help but as is, these didn't work out for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Valentine's Day Party

Party to your heart’s content on Valentine’s Day with these easy tips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States