Valentine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Made this for my family today and they LOVED it ~ even most of the kids who are typically fussy. I only used 1 envelope of Onion Soup Mix to 2 lbs of beef and I used Mozzarella Cheese instead of Swiss because that's all I had. My daughter wanted to know if she can have flower shaped ones next time...what have I started? These would probably be good in regular patty shapes, too and maybe a bit easier than hearts. I agree, is more than 10 min prep but I used a cookie cutter which seemed to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Care
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
The cutest tastiest ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StephannieAR84
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
These turned out wonderful! Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
very good and my husband loved them... he was impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrahier

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
hearts are very hard to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
My husband and I loved these! I actually cut the recipe in half, and formed the meat mixture into a meatloaf, instead of meatballs. It was incredible, and will definitely be on our menu again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I made this for my husband this weekend and he was extremely impressed. They have wonderful taste! These would make excellent hamburgers if you make bigger meatballs and flatten them into patties. We plan on trying this during the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LookitsJeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
We really loved these. I gave them four stars because I made changes: used one pound ground turkey and one pound ground chicken, used mozzarella b/c I didn't have Swiss, mixed everything together at once, and threw in a handful of Penzey's Spices pasta sprinkle. I made 12 round meatballs and then served them over mashed potatoes with a bechamel mushroom sauce. Everyone, including kids, loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
What a novice idea! These were actually very tasty. Not hard to make the hearts. But... you only need 1/4 of the cheese and mushroom mixture. And that is probably too much. And.... Samantha (Bewitched) couldn't make these in 10 minutes. Plan on closer to 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
These are really cute! I used a pound of turkey and got 4 big hearts. Instead of the onion soup, I used coriander, nutmeg, garlic powder, salt, pepper, parsley and onion flakes to season the meat. When had been in the oven for 20 minutes, I poured over a sauce made of a can of cream of chicken soup, 1 1/4 cups light sour cream, 1/2-3/4 cup milk, 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce, 1/3 cup white wine, a sprinkle of salt and a sprinkle of parsley. Baked them for 20 more minutes. The sauce was great over the meatballs! Also, what worked best for me when making the meatballs was to just make the 2 sides shaped like rounded triangles, put them together and seal the edges, and then form it into a heart shape. Oh and for some reason I could only fit about a tablespoon and a half of the filling into each one, I'll try to do more next time. A chunk of cheese and some mushroom slices might be easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States