Valencian Savory Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This recipe was really yummy. I am Puerto Rican and make this a number of different ways. Usually I use ground beef. I cook the ground beef, add chopped green olives (just a few), use some adobo seasoning and sazon packets (can be found in the international food section of your supermarket, and finally use some sofrito ( 1 onion, cilantro, peppers, garlic and culantro blended with a little olive oil which is the base for most of our cooking) and this is my filling. Of course drain the ground beef. I also buy the dough in the frozen section. The goya ones work well. If you like you can add shredded cheese to the ground beef as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Chucked the Onion(allergy), the rest was great. The biggest problem I had was rolling out the dough thin enough. I made my own dough for it instead of pizza dough. I have also used crescent rolls which gives them a buttery taste. Stuff-able with anything, just don't over stuff them :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara C. Rodgers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chickasha, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by TM
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I love this recipe! This time, I cooked empanadas with tuna instead of ham, without onion. Also, used a packaged dough sold in a typical Spanish supermarket "masa de empanadillas".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TM

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
These were a bit hit with everyone in my family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
These make for tasty little sandwiches. I ended up using crescent roll dough. My pizza dough had expired so it didn't work very well. Tasted great with the crescent roll dough, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I liked these, but it's a lot of work. Peeling, chopping, stretching, filling, and folding. I'll definitely wait to make these until I have an opportunity to cook in silence, but that doesn't happen much in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestic DIY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
These were yummy and super easy. I brushed them with egg before baking so they were shiny and lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This recipe is okay, but not great. Next time I'd like to try a different crust. I make a beef empanaditas recipe with a crust similar to pie crust, so I might try that. Also, if you peel and seed the tomotoes, it seems that the juices mainly come out of the tomatoes with the seeds anyway. (I'm saying this because of earlier comments about this).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
If you are not a fan of refrigerated bread mixes (i.e. Pillsbury) this recipe is not for you. I thought it would be ok by the time we added sour cream & pico de gallo on the top, but I just could not get over that refrigerated dough taste. I might make this again, but I'll make my own dough in the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke789

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I made these last night for a tapas party at my place, along with a couple of other "small plate"-type dishes. These really exceeded my expectations! I actually made the filling the night before, and I tried it for seasoning - it tasted fine, but not great. We also went ahead and assembled them that night (using a fork to press down the edges to seal), and popped them in the fridge overnight. They came out GREAT! We served with sour cream and they were really tasty. Definitely came out to be more than the sum of its parts! Highly recommend! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Savory Bacon & Crab Bread Pudding Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States