Uzbek Plov (Lamb and Rice Pilaf) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Very authentic,you can also try bone in peaces of lamb, that is sold in Costco. Bone will give much flavor to rice. Uzbek eat plov without utensils meat on the bone less messy this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alamar

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Niles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I used beef, since it was the only meat I had at the time, as well as generous amount of olive oil. I also used pre-mixed spices for plov that I bought in a Russian store. BTW, you can find dried barberries there as well for cheap. This is a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I loved it! Very good! At first I was scared that there were a lot of onions and carrots, but it turned out very good. It tastes really good, and really easy to make. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I made the Lamb and Rice. The most difficult part was trying to find barberries. I used dried cranberries instead. The dish is OUTSTANDING. It took time, but was worth it. thanks, Sarah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe. I made it as written (okay, I added chopped almonds) and it was fantastic. My husband said I could make this anytime... and I plan to! I'm looking forward to trying this with different veggies, dried fruits, nuts, etc. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Amazing! It was just like my mom used to make:). ( I am originally from Russia:) . My very American husband and son loved it too. They are both extremely picky eaters. It was really easy to make and super delicious. I did not change anything and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This is one of my favorite dishes and everyone seems to have a slightly different variation. I like to add about 1/2 tsp of paprika, turmeric, and tarragon each to the spice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missadria

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
My nephew, daughter, and husband ate every scrap. begged for more. I will have to double this one next time. I didnt have cumin or coriander seeds (just ground) so I halved that, and I didnt have the berries. We just used squeezed lemon to taste. Also, I used half water half beef stock. I will look into the berries for next time! Different and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I love plov, especially Uzbek plov. This is a very authentic recipe, the plov is just absolutely delicious. I have made it with lamb (my favorite), beef, pork and vegetarian - it is really good no matter how you make it. My kids always ask for seconds and thirds, and it is just as good two days later as it is when you first make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I hate to review this, not having made it exact, but I had leftover lamb which didn't need to cook as long. I added it just before adding the rice so I didn't add that extra half hour of cooking and it came out fine. This was really delicious and will be my go to "leftover lamb" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States