Uzbek Plov (Lamb and Rice Pilaf) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Very close to the true uzbek recipe (I'm originally from Uzbekistan). Agree with previous reviewers abour julienned carrots. Another thing we do differently: put raw garlic on top the rice (squeeze it in the rice in the center) before covering everything with water. Pour water over a tablespoon or wooden spatula to ensure even distribution over rice (to avoid making large holes in the rice). Cover, and when it starts boiling remove the cover to let water evaporate. Then cover again until rice is ready. Cook on slow heat. Also, we use round rice rather than long rice but in any case avoid sticky rice. The main key to the true uzbek plov: spices. In addition to what you already mention you need turmerick (it gives plov its golden colour), carum seeds (or caraway seeds), cumin can be used regular and black cumin for more flavor, some use paprika. Comment to other reviews: Cranberries is a poor substitute to barberries - you need something very sour. There is no butter in the plov. Serve with shikarop: a salad with finally sliced (almost shredded) tomatos, shredded sweet onions, oil, salt, pepper, cilantro, and paprika. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I was born in Uzbekistan and my family has been making this dish for as long as I can remember, the only thing we do diffently is we cut the carrots in thick julienne not grate the carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I made the Lamb and Rice. The most difficult part was trying to find barberries. I used dried cranberries instead. The dish is OUTSTANDING. It took time, but was worth it. thanks, Sarah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I happened upon this from the front page and what you're probably missing is fenugreek seasoning, you add this after you add the water to the rice right on top. Also, the carrots traditionally are julienned not grated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dollpaper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zaporizhia, Zaporizhia Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
So to make this more authentic use broth instead of water (beef or chicken). It gives the rice a richer flavor. Also, I add a little butter right before I throw in the rice. It really improves the flavor. this is a classically rich dish, so the flavor of butter takes it a long way. I thinly slice my carrots... this is the traditional way and does a lot for the texture. If you don't like lamb cut up chuck roast will do, or any marbelized meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I loved it! Very good! At first I was scared that there were a lot of onions and carrots, but it turned out very good. It tastes really good, and really easy to make. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Very authentic,you can also try bone in peaces of lamb, that is sold in Costco. Bone will give much flavor to rice. Uzbek eat plov without utensils meat on the bone less messy this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alamar

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Niles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I used beef, since it was the only meat I had at the time, as well as generous amount of olive oil. I also used pre-mixed spices for plov that I bought in a Russian store. BTW, you can find dried barberries there as well for cheap. This is a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This recipe is fantastic, I made it with bone in chunks of lamb (mutton?) and cranberries. I just finished eating the reheated leftovers and I think it was better than the first time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe. I made it as written (okay, I added chopped almonds) and it was fantastic. My husband said I could make this anytime... and I plan to! I'm looking forward to trying this with different veggies, dried fruits, nuts, etc. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States