Uzbek Plov (Lamb and Rice Pilaf) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I had a bunch of rice that was overly spiced and overly salty, and blackened lamb and onions that were burnt to the point of being ashy and inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe. I made it as written (okay, I added chopped almonds) and it was fantastic. My husband said I could make this anytime... and I plan to! I'm looking forward to trying this with different veggies, dried fruits, nuts, etc. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I hate to review this, not having made it exact, but I had leftover lamb which didn't need to cook as long. I added it just before adding the rice so I didn't add that extra half hour of cooking and it came out fine. This was really delicious and will be my go to "leftover lamb" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
following this recipe exactly for cooking times and so forth, everything was burned and unedible. Very disappointed. Lamb is not cheap either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I love plov, especially Uzbek plov. This is a very authentic recipe, the plov is just absolutely delicious. I have made it with lamb (my favorite), beef, pork and vegetarian - it is really good no matter how you make it. My kids always ask for seconds and thirds, and it is just as good two days later as it is when you first make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
My nephew, daughter, and husband ate every scrap. begged for more. I will have to double this one next time. I didnt have cumin or coriander seeds (just ground) so I halved that, and I didnt have the berries. We just used squeezed lemon to taste. Also, I used half water half beef stock. I will look into the berries for next time! Different and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This is one of my favorite dishes and everyone seems to have a slightly different variation. I like to add about 1/2 tsp of paprika, turmeric, and tarragon each to the spice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missadria

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Amazing! It was just like my mom used to make:). ( I am originally from Russia:) . My very American husband and son loved it too. They are both extremely picky eaters. It was really easy to make and super delicious. I did not change anything and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Very close to the true uzbek recipe (I'm originally from Uzbekistan). Agree with previous reviewers abour julienned carrots. Another thing we do differently: put raw garlic on top the rice (squeeze it in the rice in the center) before covering everything with water. Pour water over a tablespoon or wooden spatula to ensure even distribution over rice (to avoid making large holes in the rice). Cover, and when it starts boiling remove the cover to let water evaporate. Then cover again until rice is ready. Cook on slow heat. Also, we use round rice rather than long rice but in any case avoid sticky rice. The main key to the true uzbek plov: spices. In addition to what you already mention you need turmerick (it gives plov its golden colour), carum seeds (or caraway seeds), cumin can be used regular and black cumin for more flavor, some use paprika. Comment to other reviews: Cranberries is a poor substitute to barberries - you need something very sour. There is no butter in the plov. Serve with shikarop: a salad with finally sliced (almost shredded) tomatos, shredded sweet onions, oil, salt, pepper, cilantro, and paprika. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
So to make this more authentic use broth instead of water (beef or chicken). It gives the rice a richer flavor. Also, I add a little butter right before I throw in the rice. It really improves the flavor. this is a classically rich dish, so the flavor of butter takes it a long way. I thinly slice my carrots... this is the traditional way and does a lot for the texture. If you don't like lamb cut up chuck roast will do, or any marbelized meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

How to Make Lamb Meatballs

See how to make baked lamb meatballs simmered in a simple tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States