USMC SOS Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I ate a small mountain of SOS in various mess halls. This recipe isn't bad but its not authentic USMC SOS. I added diced onion, garlic powder, worchester sauce and a dash of hot sauce. That is the taste I remember! SOS is normally served over toast but is best served over biscuits. Try it the authentic way, thousands of US service men have eaten it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Make this way for great results: 1. In a Large Skillet brown 1 pound of VERY LEAN ground beef. 2. Turn OFF heat. 3. Add to the cooked beef: 1/4 cup softened butter, 1/2 cup flour, 2 tsp. instant beef bouillon granules, salt to (to your taste), ground pepper (to your taste). REMEMBER: at this point to stir all above until flour is completely absorbed, only then can you turn on the heat at medium high. 4. Then immediately add the milk and Worcestershire sauce in these amounts: 4 cups milk 1/2 tsp. Worcestershire (optional) 5. Cook and stir until thickened. Serve on biscuits or toast and sprinkle real bacon bits on top if desired
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This recipie although somewhat tasty is not the USMC SOS recipie. Wherw is the onions, garlic Worcesttershire Sauce, Soy Sauce? The "REAL USMC SOS" contains these ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
My husband grew up eating this dish so I decided to try it out. This recipe was DELICIOUS!!! The evaporated milk and beef broth is the key to this recipe. The only addition I made was to add freshly ground mild country sausage. I did double the white sauce to have more "gravy" than meat. My husband stated the addition of fresh sausage really added MORE savory flavor than what his mom used to make it. The family even had 2nd helpings! I may try using texas toast or english muffins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I've been looking for a way to stretch the dinner dollars when I found this recipe. My family of three loved it, and would have eaten more, so next time I won't cut the recipe back. I did add a small amount of sausage to the ground beef, and I happened to have some bacon grease left over(I always save it, refrigerate it, and use it often, instead of other forms of fat). I used it instead of the butter. Small changes, and the whole dish can be made for UNDER A DOLLAR A SERVING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Really good! I made a few alterations. first, I used onion and garlic in browning the meat. worchesteshire sauce as others added too. the ratio of fat to flour in the roux didnt' work for me. I had globs of flour, not a smooth paste. tossed that and made it one to one ratio. that worked great. I used about 3/4 of the can of evap milk to the 1 cup beef broth, added some dill to the whole thing, and served over pasta. the kiddos gobbled it up! the hub raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaelowyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This recipe was soooo very bland. It's good to get you started but it definitely needed work. I added diced onion while browning the meat then seasoned it with garlic powder and a little seasoning salt. I also added in worcestershire & soy sauce to the roux mixture and then it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2000
This was the best S.O.S. I've ever had. I had it in the joint for the 3 years I was in, but it never tasted so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I just made this for my husband and he loved it. I used skim milk and added 1 tsp of garlic salt and 1 tsp of onion salt. Very delicious, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I ate this all the time as an Army brat. This was my first time making it and the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States