USMC SOS Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Too bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This is the only SOS recipe that states to drain the excess fat off that I have reag ,I make my own version which is basically the same as others here.Got used to it in the USMC (30 years) also on ship the Navy had a version with tomatos rather then milk and served with hard boiled eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Really good! I made a few alterations. first, I used onion and garlic in browning the meat. worchesteshire sauce as others added too. the ratio of fat to flour in the roux didnt' work for me. I had globs of flour, not a smooth paste. tossed that and made it one to one ratio. that worked great. I used about 3/4 of the can of evap milk to the 1 cup beef broth, added some dill to the whole thing, and served over pasta. the kiddos gobbled it up! the hub raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Granzow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This is the easiest recipe for SOS I have found. I added worcestershire sauce, onion and garlic to give it a better flavor. Very good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Our family enjoyed this dish. It is good with the worchester sauce, onions, and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I have never eaten SOS, so I have nothing to compare it to, but this tasted very good. I will double the cream sauce next time. I served it over biscuits made with the remaining evaporated milk. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Wasn't overly impressed. Basic recipe was kinda bland. Added worchestershire sauce didn't help that much. Wasn't bad, but not what I was looking for. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
The basic is great. However, substituting chipped beef, adding two TBS of onion and one TBS of red bell pepper takes it to the next level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Just thought I'd let everyone know, SOS stands for SH*T ON A SHINGLE. My dad was a Marine and we ate this a lot growing up, the name doesn't do it justice cause it's G-R-E-A-T!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolean Rook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This is a good basic recipe. I thought it was a little on the bland side but nothing a little chopped onion, garlic, cumin and Adobo didn't fix. All these things I added to taste so no measurements to give to you. Cheap and easy meal. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States