U.S. Navy Minced Beef On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
My Navy pilot husband just put this recipe in front of me...with a big smile. He'd been looking for one for years since he'd served on the USS Kearsarge aircraft carrier during Vietnam. He said all the food he had in the Navy was good. As far as the SOS goes...we both remember that as being chipped beef in a white sauce served over toast. I'll be fixing this at our house often. I think I'll add a fried egg on top of mine though. Thanks for posting this STILLATIT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sicilian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
My Navy vet dad used to make this for my brothers and me for breakfast. Now my grandson will be introduced to the joys of minced beef on toast. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Man does this bring back good old Navy breakfast memories. First breakfast on board I did not eat it.lol. A Week later I was getting seconds. Thanks you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
if you don't have nutmeg you can use mace as an acceptable substitute. We use to use both spices when we made it just used 1/2 the amt for each one. if you don't have diced tomatoes use whole tomatoes and crush them before adding them to the mix if you do this cut back on the tomato juice since whole tomatoes will ad more juice and it will be waterery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Served aboard the U.S. Whale, SSN 638, in 1971 and had this for the first time. Thought it was great then and my grandson enjoyed it tonight. Thanks for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Black

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
As a Marine aboard the USS Henrico on my way to Viet Nam, I had the pleasure of eating Navy Chow. This dish above all was my favorite. I haven't had this for over 44 years and now I've found it again. Now if my house could start rocking back and forth, I'll enjoy it more. Thank you for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
When I was in the Navy, early 60s, I was a cook. Navy SOS always was a favorite. On the 2 different submarine tenders I was on we served it regularly. I don't know about the rest of the Navy but we always had great food. The chiefs running the general mess made sure the food quality was good and that the crew liked what they ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Just like I remembered. Also good over scrambled eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This is not bad, but like Smokin'Chris, I never ate this in the U.S. Navy. They used dried been and it was mixed in a white sauce (SOS). Someone complained about the navy food, saying this was the only dish they could "choke down". Actually the food was very good and I never really saw anyone complain either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Very tasty recipe,but I don't know whose navy it was served in.I started eating this dish for breakfast in Parris Island over 50 years ago,and I don't ever remember tomatoes,nutmeg or sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sylvan Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States