Urban Legend Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2000
This is the Mrs. Fields cookie recipe, it is a great cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
I made a half recipe to take to a cookie exchange-everyone loved them. I added these to my permanent cookie recipe collection. The only suggestion I would make is to split the oatmeal before blending because it choked up my blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
This is one of those special occasion cookies. Everyone loves them. I have made them several times over the past 5 years or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
Mrs Field's, Neiman Marcus', Urban Legend .. these cookies taste very good for a hoax recipe. First got it but unnamed, from a local aussie paper more than 10 years ago, then discovered it's got a name (1st or 2nd name above) last 4 years or so via the Net. Recently here (malaysia), it's making its rounds again but under yet another name - Famous Amos, lol. No matter what name it goes around with, this chocolate oatmeal chip cookie deserves a try; so go on, you might just come to love it, especially if you love oats, with nuts and chocolate. This makes a lot; I make them smaller and halve the recipe sometimes too. Thanks for sharing it here Holly, I now know the calories and fat content of these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sereneblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
This is the same as the original recipe only doubled. Just use the original
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I have tried so many chocolate chip recipes and simply put, THESE ARE THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
i LOVE these cookies!! they're so easy to make... but they taste so good!! i always make alot and put some dough in the freezer for when i'd like some more :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlyn MacKenzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
These cookies were a hit with my hubby's coworkers. He got several requests for the recipe and thank you e-mails for the delicious treat! I had to bake these for 12 min, don't know if I rolled them too large or what, but they still seemed a little undercooked when I took them out but cooled fine and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppell, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
If you make these right, they are outstanding. Someone gave me this recipe 15 years ago and now I'm known for my chocolate chip cookies. I know it's terrible, but I use margarine instead of butter which really help the texture. I don't bother grating the chocolate. I just throw some extra milk chocolate chips in the blender and mix that in (and I add more chocolate than it calls for). In the end though, underbaking these cookies is really the key for me. I bake them for 6 minutes and let them cool as short a time as possible on the cookie sheet. People continually beg me to make them and I've sold a few batches. By the way you can make these vegan and they are still fantastic! The texture is different and you have to form them into a cookie (they don't spread out), but the taste is still incredible. My vegan friends said they were the best cookie they had ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
The key here is definitely BLEND THE OATS!!! It gives it the most amazing texture. And it's a part that most people miss, it really does alter the outcome of the cookies. These are my favorite cookies :) An alteration I do for my mother is adding a cup or so of cranberries to the half recipe. Gives them a nice tangy kick. Just an idea ;) Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States