Urban Legend Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2000
This is the Mrs. Fields cookie recipe, it is a great cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
This is one of those special occasion cookies. Everyone loves them. I have made them several times over the past 5 years or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
Mrs Field's, Neiman Marcus', Urban Legend .. these cookies taste very good for a hoax recipe. First got it but unnamed, from a local aussie paper more than 10 years ago, then discovered it's got a name (1st or 2nd name above) last 4 years or so via the Net. Recently here (malaysia), it's making its rounds again but under yet another name - Famous Amos, lol. No matter what name it goes around with, this chocolate oatmeal chip cookie deserves a try; so go on, you might just come to love it, especially if you love oats, with nuts and chocolate. This makes a lot; I make them smaller and halve the recipe sometimes too. Thanks for sharing it here Holly, I now know the calories and fat content of these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sereneblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I have tried so many chocolate chip recipes and simply put, THESE ARE THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
This is the same as the original recipe only doubled. Just use the original
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
i LOVE these cookies!! they're so easy to make... but they taste so good!! i always make alot and put some dough in the freezer for when i'd like some more :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlyn MacKenzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
These cookies were a hit with my hubby's coworkers. He got several requests for the recipe and thank you e-mails for the delicious treat! I had to bake these for 12 min, don't know if I rolled them too large or what, but they still seemed a little undercooked when I took them out but cooled fine and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppell, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
I made a half recipe to take to a cookie exchange-everyone loved them. I added these to my permanent cookie recipe collection. The only suggestion I would make is to split the oatmeal before blending because it choked up my blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
The key here is definitely BLEND THE OATS!!! It gives it the most amazing texture. And it's a part that most people miss, it really does alter the outcome of the cookies. These are my favorite cookies :) An alteration I do for my mother is adding a cup or so of cranberries to the half recipe. Gives them a nice tangy kick. Just an idea ;) Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
If you make these right, they are outstanding. Someone gave me this recipe 15 years ago and now I'm known for my chocolate chip cookies. I know it's terrible, but I use margarine instead of butter which really help the texture. I don't bother grating the chocolate. I just throw some extra milk chocolate chips in the blender and mix that in (and I add more chocolate than it calls for). In the end though, underbaking these cookies is really the key for me. I bake them for 6 minutes and let them cool as short a time as possible on the cookie sheet. People continually beg me to make them and I've sold a few batches. By the way you can make these vegan and they are still fantastic! The texture is different and you have to form them into a cookie (they don't spread out), but the taste is still incredible. My vegan friends said they were the best cookie they had ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States