Urban Legend Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
Mrs Field's, Neiman Marcus', Urban Legend .. these cookies taste very good for a hoax recipe. First got it but unnamed, from a local aussie paper more than 10 years ago, then discovered it's got a name (1st or 2nd name above) last 4 years or so via the Net. Recently here (malaysia), it's making its rounds again but under yet another name - Famous Amos, lol. No matter what name it goes around with, this chocolate oatmeal chip cookie deserves a try; so go on, you might just come to love it, especially if you love oats, with nuts and chocolate. This makes a lot; I make them smaller and halve the recipe sometimes too. Thanks for sharing it here Holly, I now know the calories and fat content of these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sereneblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
i LOVE these cookies!! they're so easy to make... but they taste so good!! i always make alot and put some dough in the freezer for when i'd like some more :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlyn MacKenzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
This is one of those special occasion cookies. Everyone loves them. I have made them several times over the past 5 years or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
LOVED this cookie! Used 1 3/4 c of each of the sugars (that was plenty) and 1 1/2c of choc chips 'cause that was what I had. Did not bother with the grating of extra choc. Processed 1/2+ the oats to get fine powder and rest left as oatmeal (we like oatmeal). Next time will add a bit of cinnamon and maybe nutmeg. Took some to work - they disappeared in seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
It's okay, but not terrific. It's not buttery enough for me and something isn't quite right, although this is a lot nitpicking on my part. I like my chocolate chip cookies a particular way, I'm afraid. Just a note on a couple other reviews. I don't see anywhere in the recipe where the chocolate has to be chopped. Also, someone noted this was the Mrs. Field recipe. Mrs. Field's has stated they do not use oats/oat flour in their chocolate chip cookies and I cannot taste oats in those cookies. They have stated that their recipes use more butter and vanilla than the average home recipe, along with more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
If you make these right, they are outstanding. Someone gave me this recipe 15 years ago and now I'm known for my chocolate chip cookies. I know it's terrible, but I use margarine instead of butter which really help the texture. I don't bother grating the chocolate. I just throw some extra milk chocolate chips in the blender and mix that in (and I add more chocolate than it calls for). In the end though, underbaking these cookies is really the key for me. I bake them for 6 minutes and let them cool as short a time as possible on the cookie sheet. People continually beg me to make them and I've sold a few batches. By the way you can make these vegan and they are still fantastic! The texture is different and you have to form them into a cookie (they don't spread out), but the taste is still incredible. My vegan friends said they were the best cookie they had ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Yummy! Super good and great to make with kids. My whole family loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
These are good! I prefer to use pecans for the walnuts, and I use my cookie scoop for the dough, then I pat it down slightly. My baking time is slightly less, though, closer to 7 or 8 minutes or when the edges are golden and the tops just ever so slightly starting to brown, otherwise they seem too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
THE URBAN LEGEND IS THAT THESE COOKIES ARE ACTUALLY NEIMAN MARCUS CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I recommend you use Milk chocolate for both the bar and the chips. You will never go back to traditional cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States