Uptown Cowboy Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by LindaBeach
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Love this salsa! I too, improvise with whatever looks good, or that I have on hand. Decided to experiment, so tonight I made a triple batch and canned it. Had to make about 7x the dressing - which I know is too much, but wanted to be sure I had enough to fill each jar. It made 11 and 3/4 jars. All sealed but one - which I plan to open and eat as soon as it is chilled. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Delicious! I added avocado to mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Very tasty. If we had the capability to rate in half steps (e.g. as with Red Box video), I'd bump this up to 4.5 stars. Prefer this to the plainer versions on this site, altho I've settled on a hybrid with my own tweaks. Having diced petite tomato in the dish is definitely an improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
LOVE THIS! If I have a purple onion I add some, but its great just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Healthy and so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I love this version of cowboy caviar. Had it at a friend's house recently and was searching for a recipe online. The sweetness of it tastes great with a salty tortilla chip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
After frantically searching the house for my own black bean salsa recipe and not being able to find it, I made this one. Very good. I made the dressing as written but decided to not use it because of how much oil was in it. I made it again using just the rice vinegar and sugar. a HUGE hit at the party. I loved the pinto beans in it because it gave the salsa a softer texture than my original recipe that used only black beans. Really good, thanks so much for posting:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. I used chickpeas for the pinto beans and to cut waste I used 1 whole red bell pepper instead of 1/2 each red and yellow. This is SO good. Thanks again Kate for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penny from wiggins, ms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
amazing and light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissBerryBliss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This is really good, but definitely need to cut down on the olive oil, 1/2 cup is way tooo much. Also, its good without the salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stony Point, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States