Uptown Cowboy Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Made it exactly as recipe was given. Wonderful... Will find many uses for this. I'm sure it will be good over fish, on a baked potato, etc. I plan to keep some on hand most of the time. Happy that the recipe was shared, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I have made a few different 'cowboy caviar / bean salad' recipes. This is by far THE BEST!!!!!! Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I had it at my daughter's Craft Party, then decided to try it for myself. It was a definite hit! I added 1 and a half, huge Avocados which made it even better, almost creamy. Since my hubby's stomach is sensitive to strong chili, I added a small can of diced green chili, perfect. It was truly enjoyed. When I make it again, I plan to experiment again. This time I will add thawed from frozen whole kernel sweet corn, because the corn that was recommended just didn't have enough color. I will include red onions for additional color and flavor, as well as, kidney beans for more bulk. I think this CbC is good enough to add to just about any dish. I may try it with fish, fish tacos or on the side. No matter which way you serve it, it is so very tasty. The grandchildren were happy with a spoon and a little bowl each, as did my older brother (who swears he doesn't eat vegetables)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Benites

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Made this for our tailgate this past weekend and it was a hit. Everyone wanted the recipe. The chopping takes a while but it's worth it. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Everyone loved this! It was so good I ate it for lunch the next day. I used bottled balsamic vinaigrette and squeezed in some fresh lemon juice instead of the homemade dressing. I also swapped chick peas for the pinto beans. I felt it needed something so I added cumin. Just perfect to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I made this recipe as written. I don't find it helpful to give a recipe a 5-star rating when you change too many of the ingredients. The only thing I did not like about this was the homemade dressing. It was just too sweet for my taste. I prefer the versions that have a little more tangy flavor. With some tweaking on the dressing it would be better. The vegetable and bean combination was nice and it was a very pretty dish. I was surprised that I would like the pinto beans. Never saw Cowboy Caviar with anything other than black beans and black eyed peas. I did think it was a bit too much corn. Would probably use a cup of frozen corn next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I know its a salsa but its so darn good I sometimes eat it as a side!! :-) I get requests to make this for events or just cause at home. Great and easy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
My family LOVES this! I had been making a version that uses bottled Italian dressing for years. I love this recipe's dressing...so much fresher and lighter. I do cut back the olive oil and sugar to 1/4 c. I prefer red onion. And I don't use celery or pimento. I suggest adding 1/2 to 1 t of cumin to the dressing. It really gives bit of zing without being overtly spicey. Everytime I take this somewhere new I get asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni in Avon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaBeach
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Love this salsa! I too, improvise with whatever looks good, or that I have on hand. Decided to experiment, so tonight I made a triple batch and canned it. Had to make about 7x the dressing - which I know is too much, but wanted to be sure I had enough to fill each jar. It made 11 and 3/4 jars. All sealed but one - which I plan to open and eat as soon as it is chilled. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Delicious! I added avocado to mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States