Uptown Cowboy Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I love this version of cowboy caviar. Had it at a friend's house recently and was searching for a recipe online. The sweetness of it tastes great with a salty tortilla chip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
After frantically searching the house for my own black bean salsa recipe and not being able to find it, I made this one. Very good. I made the dressing as written but decided to not use it because of how much oil was in it. I made it again using just the rice vinegar and sugar. a HUGE hit at the party. I loved the pinto beans in it because it gave the salsa a softer texture than my original recipe that used only black beans. Really good, thanks so much for posting:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
LOVE THIS! If I have a purple onion I add some, but its great just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Healthy and so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
We make this salad often in our home. Fast to make. We use whatever beans we have on hand, (try anything, even used garbanzos) use either red or green onion (prefer red cause it's crunchy). Like to use 2 ears of fresh corn roasted on the grill for a couple of minutes on each side or boiled for a few minutes, but in a pinch have used frozen and always use roasted red peppers b/c we don't care for the jarred pimento. We also use agave instead of sugar and don't need to cook the dressing, just mix it all in one bowl and refrigerate to "marry" flavors. I might go easier on the dressing depending on the amount of beans I'm using, but judge for yourself. Great side recipe to have on hand. But refrigerate at least an hour. Great to take to picnics also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GR8COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I took this to work needing a vagan option that even the non-vegan co-workers would eat. It was a big hit by all parties. This will be a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This is really good, but definitely need to cut down on the olive oil, 1/2 cup is way tooo much. Also, its good without the salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stony Point, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
amazing and light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissBerryBliss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. I used chickpeas for the pinto beans and to cut waste I used 1 whole red bell pepper instead of 1/2 each red and yellow. This is SO good. Thanks again Kate for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penny from wiggins, ms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States