Uptown Cowboy Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Everyone loved this! It was so good I ate it for lunch the next day. I used bottled balsamic vinaigrette and squeezed in some fresh lemon juice instead of the homemade dressing. I also swapped chick peas for the pinto beans. I felt it needed something so I added cumin. Just perfect to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I made this recipe as written. I don't find it helpful to give a recipe a 5-star rating when you change too many of the ingredients. The only thing I did not like about this was the homemade dressing. It was just too sweet for my taste. I prefer the versions that have a little more tangy flavor. With some tweaking on the dressing it would be better. The vegetable and bean combination was nice and it was a very pretty dish. I was surprised that I would like the pinto beans. Never saw Cowboy Caviar with anything other than black beans and black eyed peas. I did think it was a bit too much corn. Would probably use a cup of frozen corn next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I know its a salsa but its so darn good I sometimes eat it as a side!! :-) I get requests to make this for events or just cause at home. Great and easy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
My family LOVES this! I had been making a version that uses bottled Italian dressing for years. I love this recipe's dressing...so much fresher and lighter. I do cut back the olive oil and sugar to 1/4 c. I prefer red onion. And I don't use celery or pimento. I suggest adding 1/2 to 1 t of cumin to the dressing. It really gives bit of zing without being overtly spicey. Everytime I take this somewhere new I get asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni in Avon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaBeach
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Love this salsa! I too, improvise with whatever looks good, or that I have on hand. Decided to experiment, so tonight I made a triple batch and canned it. Had to make about 7x the dressing - which I know is too much, but wanted to be sure I had enough to fill each jar. It made 11 and 3/4 jars. All sealed but one - which I plan to open and eat as soon as it is chilled. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Delicious! I added avocado to mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Very tasty. If we had the capability to rate in half steps (e.g. as with Red Box video), I'd bump this up to 4.5 stars. Prefer this to the plainer versions on this site, altho I've settled on a hybrid with my own tweaks. Having diced petite tomato in the dish is definitely an improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
LOVE THIS! If I have a purple onion I add some, but its great just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Healthy and so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I love this version of cowboy caviar. Had it at a friend's house recently and was searching for a recipe online. The sweetness of it tastes great with a salty tortilla chip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States