Upside Down Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I was looking to use the cauliflower and ground turkey I had on hand and I generally like food that is served in a pile format so I tried this. Since I was using brown rice, I started cooking that first and added the other stuff later. This didn't work very well so I would stick with the instructions on that next time. I cooked the cauliflower in the microwave which was fast, but not very flavorful. I found it pretty bland overall but it was improved later with aged cheddar, Vege-Sal, and pepper or lemon pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYJI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Because you say it's bland I added 1tea more garlic 1 tea ground mustard and 1Table Rachael ray bump up your burger seasoning grinder, and lots of cheese taste good,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I made this last night with only two changes. I omitted the tumeric, as I had none, and I prepared the cauliflower as written but cooked it in the microwave instead of the oven to save time (mine cooked it in about 9 minutes). I agree with other reviewers who say it is a bit bland, but I would still make this again with a few adaptations (and adding the tumeric!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
As written, I'd probably give this recipe 3 stars... I'm not sure. I followed the directions, however I made this change: I make curries a lot, and the idea of just adding curry powder/spices to water seemed like madness to me. I also wanted to double the spices, so I decided to split the difference. I put half of my spices into the beef/onion mixture when the beef was mostly cooked to fry the spices (the way I'm used to preparing curry spices), and I added half of the spices to the boiling water, as the recipe suggests. Basically I followed the recipe exactly, but fried another batch of the spices with the beef. I also stirred the rice around in the fried curry/onion/beef oils on gentle heat before adding the water. This came out deliciously! Oh, and be careful to set your heat fairly low during the rice-cooking part of the process (On my stove I set it at about 3.5/10). It will still simmer with lower heat, but if you don't put the heat pretty low and stir occasionally it will probably burn on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This was very easy to make, made a lot, and was good. I wouldn't call it spectacular but ground beef and rice with cauliflower it can only be so good. It was a little bland but still very flavorful. I think this is something kids could really go for. Sort of comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was edible, but anything I'd make again. Too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oroville, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I agree with the other reviews...Cook time is not long enough. Good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I was kind of disappointed in this recipe. After reading reviews, I doubled up most of the spices, but it still tasted bland. I also needed to add more water, because the rice didn't fully cook and then burned on the bottom of the pan. It was okay, but not something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
followed the recipe (did use the microwave to boil the spiced water) and i'm sold! i am no expert cook, but i enjoyed going past my comfort level with this recipe.... after five ingridients i get nervous! but this recipe was so much fun to make, and it turned out PERFECT, i'll be looking for more middle eastern dishes to try out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms. read

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I thought this was just ok. I doubled the spices and it was still a big bland for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

Tom's Down to the Bone Pork Chops

Tender and crispy baked pork chops.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States