Upside Down Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Easy and came out so juicy! I did season the turkey, buttered the skin and left foil on it until the last hour! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I saw this method on a cooking show and used it when I cooked my first turkey several years ago...The only difference's were and is what I did...stuff the bird with two apples, onions and garlic cloves with the tops cut off and add butter and any other desired spices on them before putting them in the bird. And It's true! this is the BEST way to cook a turkey so that the juices and/or spices cook into the meat. It may not look very "pretty" like the "normal" way but your taste-buds and guests will love you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Make sure you baste the turkey or it will dry out! Ours turned out beautifully! And plenty of leftovers for pot pie the next day! Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
The biggest problem with this recipe, is you don't have nearly enough leftover! I did a few things differently -- like used a combo of white wine and chicken stock in place of water. (I didn't find prepared turkey stock). I also added a bit of poultry seasoning to the butter and creamed them together. I put it over the bird (not separating the skin) and into the cavity. I used more butter than the recipe called for. I also cooked the turkey in a sealed aluminum tent. I didn't turn over until about 3/4 of the way through the cooking time. The bird really turned out ugly. You really couldn't take it to table and carve-- but it was the most delicious turkey ever. All agreed! The next day, even the leftovers were incredibly moist. However we had no crispy skin. Next time,I think I'd turn it right side up sooner, and remove the foil sooner -- but only for the skin lovers. You could make a turkey just like this -- if you want a great tasting, moist turkey. Also, next time I'd make a bigger one (ours was just over 11 pounds) -- it was so good, we hardly had any left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feliznavidad

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I use the upside down method using recipes I pull from various articles. About 3/4 of the way through I turn the bird over to brown the skin. The bird is always moist and I love how much time you shave off cooking it this way. Turning the bird over can be messy but I am prepared! By the way...sometimes I brine the bird and sometimes I don't and it still works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I did it on 350 with no additional water other than what leaked out of the turkey after washing it. I rubbed it with olive oil first, then mixed all the spices with a stick of butter and threw a bay leaf inside. I also chopped up a small onion, 3 carrots, and minced one clove of garlic and threw those all over around the turkey just for flavoring. Cooked it upside down for 2.5 hrs and right side up for 1.5 hrs (after I turned the temp down to 300.) It was perfect. The best turkey ever! Spices I used: Onion powder garlic powder celery salt seasoning salt black pepper savory Italian seasoning bay leaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Turning over a hot turkey isn't the easiet job so be sure you don't get much bigger. I did 1/4c olive oil/butter blend inside & only olive oil on the outside. Used 1c water, 1c apple juice in the pan. Also 2T Kosher salt, 1T freshly ground black pepper, 1T poultry seasoning, 1/2T sage. Yummy coating & it didn't need covering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I have roasted many turkeys over the years the usual way of breast side up, but after seeing the recipe for roasting breast side down I thought why not give it a try. Fantastic! The turkey was soooo moist and tender. I basted the bird every half hour. I flipped it breast side up for the last hour. I had to let it roast for about an extra half hour or so to get the breast skin brown. The only disappointment was that usually we have a house full of family, but this year it was just my husband and me and I had no one to show it off too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
The method works great, however this recipe itself doesn't produce a flavorful enough bird for me personally. I miss the usual herb rub when using this recipe, so now I just go ahead and do an herb rub too. I flip it for the last half hour, spritz with PAM spray, and reapply a sprinkling of herbs so it gets pretty. The only problem I run into is that it's quite hard to flip the bird at the end -- some birds, it's impossible for me due to how hot the grease is, just too dangerous for large turkeys. That's not a fault with this recipe at all, just a caution to those of you who also plan to flip the bird to get a pretty bird - you will need help and you will need good strong utensils. Thanks for the recipe! (P.S. I had a 13.25 lb frozen turkey, which had been thawing in the fridge; the neck was still frozen and the inside of my turkey was icy when I removed the neck. It took slightly less than 3.5 hours to get completely done.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
The method of cooking upside down, does keep the turkey moist. I used 1 cup of apple cider instead of water, and that added a nice flavor to the turkey. As far as the cooking time, I had a 13.25lb fresh turkey and after 4 hours the turkey was still not cooked. I don't know how long it would have taken, because I was out of time. I cut the turkey up and put it on the grill. Will try again, but leave more time for cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States