Upside Down Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
My 1st turkey was a hit! I added dried sage, and salt & pepper to the butter then rubbed it under & over the skin. I basted every 45min, and flipped it over for the last 45min. Everyone was pleasantly surprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This is almost exactly how my grandmother used to do her turkeys (stuffing has a better texture when cooked separately, anyway!)- the upside-down technique works well with all other poultry, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leopardstripes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
moist, easy, even my mother is going to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This was super. The only thing I changed was to cook in a cooking bag, salt & pepper inside and outside of turkey and stuff butter in between skin and meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
This is the way I make a turkey! Such a simple technique, but the results are extroidinary! Try this, you won't be disappointed! I am so glad I found this recipe, it turned me, Turkey Maker Novice, into Turkey Maker Master (ok, maybe I won't be thanking you at Thanksgiving when this particular job is given to me, but my family will!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This was my first attempt at doing a turkey. The wife and kids loved it! We'll be using it again at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
This was the first turkey I have made. It came out great. My fiancee loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
My mom usually makes the turkey but this year I was so I chose this recipe, and was I happy I did. I have never tasted such a moist turkey! I even made a gravy with the left over sauce after I strained it and got rid of the fat. GREAT recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2c0ok

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
We BBQ'd our turkey upside down this Thanksgiving for the first time. We usally just BBQ it the "regular" way. The turkey was so tender it almost fell apart. It was wonderful! We will never cook turkey any other way again. Only change I did was I made up some Herb Butter. I mixed chopped fresh sage, rosemary and tyme and garlic with melted butter the night before. I then separated the skin and stuffed the butter between the meat and skin. I put fresh sprigs of the Herbs in the cavity with butter. Rubbed the turkey with olive oil. And on the grill he went. Upside down. I will make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This was my 1st turkey, it was a lttle dry but still very yummy. I will definately try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States