Upside Down Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
my family loved this said it was the best turkey they had ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Yummy! We had our Thanksgiving Dinner yesterday and I followed some of the ideas from this. I have cooked a turkey breast down before and it makes the breast meat so much juicier. But I flipped it over this time with about 45mins left and got that beautiful crispy skin that others in my family love. I used only 1/4 c butter with a 18 lb turkey as we are trying to reduce fat and calories. I seasoned the butter with sage, pepper, thyme & garlic then rubbed some under the skin, on the outer skin and inside the cavity. Wow, it was the best turkey I have ever made and I have made ALOT of turkeys! I felt the reduced amount of butter was just fine and the drippings made a wonderful gravy. Thanks for the recipe and for the reviewers suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trout Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I will NEVER make a turkey the "correct" way again. The breast turned out super juicy and very yummy. I have found a new way of roasting. I rubbed some butter and garlic salt under the breast skin. (i didnt add the water to the pan and it was fine). I roasted it cover for the whole time. And then let it cook covered for about 40 min before carving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
So yummy. We stuffed it with stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Wow. First time making a turkey, and cannot believe how great this came out. Followed recipe and sprinkled McCormick's Montreal Chicken Seasoning across the "top." Amazing, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Upside down turkey is the best. I did the following adjustments. Stuff the cavity with onions, carrots, celery and parsley (not to eat). After rubbing the turkey with butter, place (breast side down) it on a raised folding rack in the roasting pan. Crack fresh sea salt and pepper on top. Leave throw the giblets and neck in the bottom of the pan and pour a whole can of beer into the bottom. Cook 30 minutes at 400 F Lower temperature to 350F and cook an additional 2 hours Lower temperature again to 250 and cook another hour to an hour and a half. (you can flip the turkey over during this last part to brown the breast). Use a thermometer to check to see if it's done. Remove turkey from oven and cover with foil until ready to carve :) I followed the same gravy technique - but the beer makes the flavor explode in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamaralynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
We have been doing this to our turkey the last two years and feel it really makes for a moister white meat. We also use the citrus brine recipe from this website and brine our turkey for 24 hours before preparing. The two preparations together leave NO leftovers at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
All of the butter melted out within the first 10 minutes. I have since cut a little slit in the skin and distributed two sticks of butter under the breast and legs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Easy and delicious. Can't ask for more than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndyKaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I usually stuff my turkey but we decided to try this this year. Wonderfully moist and great gravy from the drippings too. I did also stuff som fresh rosemary and quartered oranges inside as well, since hubby saw that on tv. we also oiled and rubbed the skin with some poultry seasoning and salt and pepper. Turkey seemed to cook faster too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States