Upside Down Pear Gingerbread Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I loved the flavor but had to make it 3 times before perfecting it. It needs to cook a lot longer than 50 minutes or comes out really gooey in the middle. I would suggest another 15-20 minutes. Great with whipped cream on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I doubled the spices, doubled the pears, and didn't let it cool completely before turning out the 2nd time I made it. I like the gooyey stuff sinking down into the cake - although 1st time I made it, when I did let it cool, it was still very moist. Just lacked the flavor and dense texture I wanted. I also put sliced ginger pieces over the butter/sugar before the pears. I LOVE ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Made it exactly as directed. Came out perfect and cake was moist. I used a springform pan and found out I should have covered bottom of pan to prevent leaks. That was my fault, the recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I have never reviewed on this site, but I felt compelled to after trying this recipe. The flavor is wonderful! My cake came out moist, not dry at all. This was also very easy with very little clean up. I did use a regular round cake pan (the caramel will probably leak with a springfoam), and I lined the bottom with parchment paper so that the glaze didn't stick. I couldn't appreciate the pear flavor as much as I would have liked, so next time I will use fresh instead of canned. This will be a staple cake for the holidays! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Unlike the first 2 reviews our family loved this recipe. My husband said it was the best he has ever had. The only thing I changed up is I didn't use the cloves as we r not fans and instead used allspice and 2 tablespoons of purée ginger. Served with whip cream and was fantastic. Great recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I have to disagree with other reviewers. We all thought this was excellent. The spicy flavour was fantastic with the juicyness of the pears. I made 0 changes to this. Served it with whipped cream infused with pear juice. One suggestion-don't do this in a springform pan, it will leak and make a mess of your oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
If you don't like the flavor of molasses and gingerbread A LOT, don't make this. It's a pretty cake, but it didn't hold together too well once it came out of the springform pan. If I were to make this again, I think I'd try cutting back a bit on the molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This cake was ok. The pear and brown sugar topping was really good, but the cake itself was lacking in flavor and a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Ruppenstein Dunegan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States