Upside Down Ham Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
My family loved this recipe especially my 17 year old son .It is moist and has wonderful flavor. I use the leftover honey glazed ham from a meal and grind it in the food processor.That adds alot of flavor and sweetness to the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
I was just checking out something for dinner, I ran across this one for the recipes of the day. I asked my husband of 12 years have you ever had ham loaf. He is not a meatloaf lover, so why not ham instead. I was a little leary at first, but let me tell you this is great. Nice flavor and texture. Easy to prepare and the whole faimly liked it. Something different I added was the cheese, i didnt have swiss, i had horseradis montery. It was a terrific punch to it. I will make this again, and cant wait to tell others about it. I am sure they will put there noses up at it, but when they taste it! Great way to use up your extra ham! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOJOBEECH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arkport, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2004
After seeing this site on our local news, I decided to visit to see if I could find a recipe for ALL the extra ham I cooked on Easter!! Boy was that my lucky day!! This recipe is wonderful! I had to substitute pineapple chunks for slices and sliced swiss cheese for grated, but it was still wonderful. My adult daughter had stopped by just after I made it and had a taste of it....she then asked if she could have a couple of slices to make a sandwich for work. She told me the next day that it is as good cold as hot. My hubby who is a "meat and potato" guy, also loved it and made a sandwich for his lunch too! In fact I misplaced the recipe so returned to re-print it and fix it for dinner tonight and rate this recipe...I WILL NOT LOSE IT AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NWBARB
Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Easton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This was great and even my picky eaters loved it. The only changes I made was that I didn't have any pineapple slices so I used a can of crushed pineapple instead. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Very good! I didn't have any pineapple, so I just made the brown sugar-butter mixture for the top and substituted water for the pineapple juice. I added some dried minced garlic, as my husband won't eat onion. Can't wait to try it with the pineapple, and will definitely have a sandwich with it for my lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
This was pretty good, although I found it to be a bit crumbly. I think I didn't grind the ham fine enough. I thought it made a great sandwich the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLETURTLE30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
This is an excellent recipe! Easy and very tasty. We really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
My husband loved this - but I hated it - so we agreed on 4 stars because he liked it so much. I don't know why - I just didn't like the flavor and couldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
I would give this a 4.5 if I could. We shredded a turkey roast (cured like a ham roast..) and used some Swedish cheese. We were unsure of the amount of cheese and pineapple to use, but next time we're going to omit the brown sugar, use 3/4 of a large tin of pineapple, as well as probably 4 slices think of cheese. This was the first time I made a recipe without any preconceived idea of what it would turn out like, but it was great! And as other reviewers have mentioned, the leftovers are awesome on sandwiches. Thank you, I can't wait to make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Not much flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States