Upside Down Ham Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Well I made this last night for dinner and it was absolutely terrible! I have no idea what the others who rated this recipe were eating, but this was not good. It wasn't the flavour....although that wasn't great either. It was the texture! The flavour of the butter/brown sugar was lost and my pineapple all stuck to the bottom of the dish (not burned on, just didn't stick to the ham, but rather the dish). We will never make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
After seeing this site on our local news, I decided to visit to see if I could find a recipe for ALL the extra ham I cooked on Easter!! Boy was that my lucky day!! This recipe is wonderful! I had to substitute pineapple chunks for slices and sliced swiss cheese for grated, but it was still wonderful. My adult daughter had stopped by just after I made it and had a taste of it....she then asked if she could have a couple of slices to make a sandwich for work. She told me the next day that it is as good cold as hot. My hubby who is a "meat and potato" guy, also loved it and made a sandwich for his lunch too! In fact I misplaced the recipe so returned to re-print it and fix it for dinner tonight and rate this recipe...I WILL NOT LOSE IT AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NWBARB
Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Easton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Very good! I didn't have any pineapple, so I just made the brown sugar-butter mixture for the top and substituted water for the pineapple juice. I added some dried minced garlic, as my husband won't eat onion. Can't wait to try it with the pineapple, and will definitely have a sandwich with it for my lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
I was just checking out something for dinner, I ran across this one for the recipes of the day. I asked my husband of 12 years have you ever had ham loaf. He is not a meatloaf lover, so why not ham instead. I was a little leary at first, but let me tell you this is great. Nice flavor and texture. Easy to prepare and the whole faimly liked it. Something different I added was the cheese, i didnt have swiss, i had horseradis montery. It was a terrific punch to it. I will make this again, and cant wait to tell others about it. I am sure they will put there noses up at it, but when they taste it! Great way to use up your extra ham! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOJOBEECH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arkport, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
My family loved this recipe especially my 17 year old son .It is moist and has wonderful flavor. I use the leftover honey glazed ham from a meal and grind it in the food processor.That adds alot of flavor and sweetness to the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
I would give this a 4.5 if I could. We shredded a turkey roast (cured like a ham roast..) and used some Swedish cheese. We were unsure of the amount of cheese and pineapple to use, but next time we're going to omit the brown sugar, use 3/4 of a large tin of pineapple, as well as probably 4 slices think of cheese. This was the first time I made a recipe without any preconceived idea of what it would turn out like, but it was great! And as other reviewers have mentioned, the leftovers are awesome on sandwiches. Thank you, I can't wait to make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
This is an excellent recipe! Easy and very tasty. We really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
My husband loved this - but I hated it - so we agreed on 4 stars because he liked it so much. I don't know why - I just didn't like the flavor and couldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
This was pretty good, although I found it to be a bit crumbly. I think I didn't grind the ham fine enough. I thought it made a great sandwich the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLETURTLE30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Not much flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States