Upside-Down Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Absolutely the best coffee cake ever. We used a bundt pan. looks great too, peach only!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FENNECUS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I was very excited to try this recipe thinking that I could use just about any fruit. I used fresh peaches and followed the recipe exactly as stated. The 90 minute baking time should have been a warning to keep an eye on it. Now I see that many of the other reviews baked for much less time, some as little as half the time. My cake cracked after flipping it because I didn’t make sure the batter was completely level before being placed in the oven. I’m disappointed and don’t know if I will try this recipe again primarily because of the wide variety of baking times ranging from 45 minutes to 90 minutes. But if I do I guess I’ll be poking it with a lot of toothpicks. Butch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butch Easton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Turned out beautifully and didn't even make too much of a mess! I wrapped my spring pan in foil and it helped quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
i just made this receipe this morning and my wife said was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joeandelaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caribou, Maine, USA
Living In: Milo, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This is a light, fruity coffee cake that went over well at the felloship hour at church. I made it just as written and was pleased with how it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by natzsm
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Great recipe! I used an apple which has been sitting on the kitchen counter for about a week which no one wanted to eat anymore. I peeled, cored and sliced it thinly. I also melted the butter and sugar (only a cup of sugar) directly into my 9 inch round and deep baking pan (I didn't want to was another pan) before arranging the apples on top and also squeezed in about 2 tablespoons of honey. I had no trouble removing the cake an there was no overflow or spillage yet I think the one cup of sugar was just the right amount of caramel. This is a keeper and I plan to use it for our next brunch get-together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natzsm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Makati, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Wow- sugar overload!! Don't get me wrong, I have a serious sweet tooth, but this was out of control. I followed direction to the "T" but it turned out funky. The butter/brown sugar sauce on the bottom called for too much brown sugar, or not enough butter. The result was an overly sweet, gritty caramel sauce instead of the desired "gooey" sauce. And in my opinion this flavor did not at all compliment the peaches or the cinnamon flavored cake. I served it at a family get-together and people commented that it was as if they were eating two different desserts- a spiced cake and a caramel dessert- in one. The cake went almost untouched, which is unheard of in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Sorry Coleen. I had trouble with this recipe in that I used a large centre-hole tube pan with removeable insert and double-foil-wrapped it yet there was so much juice and syrup collected in the foil, some of which bubbled out and and burned all over my oven. I used 4 medium peaches but they created so much juice in baking that it ended up a mess even though I held the baked cake over a measuring cup and pierced the foil through the centre hole to drain the juices. I had one cup of juices (and more burned on my oven bottom) and put the juices into the freezer trying to solidify them but of course they never did and after spooning some over the top, ended up tossing the rest. I had mixed some fresh blueberries into the cake batter because coffee cakes are usually drier, but I too realized the cake was dry which was why I tried to spoon some sauce on top. Baking for 90 minutes was perhaps a contributing factor to the amount of juice accumulated. Refrigerating it overnight just accentuated the soggyness. I may try putting this into a 9 x 13 pan to distribute the base and peaches mixture over a larger area and cutting the bake time down to 60 minutes, or simply trash this recipe and go back to my "old faithful" with a hot milk sponge cake batter. To me it was a waste of time and ingredients and I had to clean my oven after to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
The cake was good and filling. I used one can of peaches that filled my 9x13 pan perfectly. I read some reviews that said to add some fruit to the cake itself, and used a container of raspberries- totally unnecessary and I think it actually took away from the peaches. It had a very strong cinnamon taste, though I think my partner may have added a tbsp instead of a tsp. I think it could be better, just not sure how.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This cake is huge! Use a very large pan. A 9 x 13 or even larger if you have it will do the trick or a 12" spring form pan. I started the layers in an 9" square pan but had enough cake batter left over to bake another cake so I just added some frozen berries and a strussel topping and made a second cake with the left over batter. The cake rises up a lot and the sauce will run over if you don't have a deep enough pan. I learned this the hard way and ended up having to clean my oven. The cake is tasty but the taste of the peaches I used was lost somehow. I was disappointed that the flavour of the fruit was lost so probably won't make this again as an upside down cake although I might use the batter part to make two "coffee" cakes with fruit in the batter and a strussel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States