Upside Down Caramel Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
My friends and family just love this pie. This is the only way I will make a apple pie ever again it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
What a delicious pie! I'm anxious to make it again. Next time I will remember to place it on a cookie sheet to save oven clean up and plan for a shorter baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
This was very delicious, but I encountered a few problems in the making. When flipped upside-down, all the caramel and bottom pie crust got left behind, stuck to the pie plate. Next time I make this, I'll double the batch of caramel, and spray the pie plate with cooking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
This recipe looks just like one that my husband has been forever singing the praises of. He used to have something just like this at a restaurant that went out of business - so I'll try this and see how it turns out. Looks delicious - thanks Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
I would say to all the people having problems with the bottom almost burning or overcooking/sticking to pan, I had the same problem, but I am sure it's because I melted the margarine in the pie plate before putting the pie together. I attributed the problem to the plate starting out warm and thus getting the bottom ingredients too warm to begin with. Melt the margarine in a separate dish and then mix it in a cold pie plate and continue with directions. I think you'll have better luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankclay, Missouri, USA
Living In: Antonia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I used to make this very pie, but lost the recipe. My husband has been begging me to try it again and I think I've found it. I used nut topping on mine instead of pecans, so the taste was more in line with a caramel apple we are all used to. As I recall, I sprayed the bottom of the pie pan before putting in the caramel, it did help a bit with sticking. Also, I left the pan on top for a bit longer after flipping...that helped, too. THanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Eielson Afb, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
This taste great!! I did as another reviewer said and lined the pan with tinfoil and sprayed that with nonstick cooking spray, I didn't have a problem with sticking at all. Just make sure that you invert the pan and remove the pie while it is still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gays Mills, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Blanchardville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
If you double up on the topping and filling, this pie is GREAT! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
As other reviews advised, this was not the best looking pie, but it sure did taste good! I doubled the amount of 'caramel' on the bottom, and also sprayed the plate with nonstick cooking spry before adding the caramel mix. Used my own apple pie recipe, for which there really is no recipe. Cooked it at a lower temperature about 375. I was excellent with vanilla ice cream! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: China Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Clair, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This is a delicious recipe!! I've been asked to make it a few times in a month!! My family eats this like there's no tomorrow. I did make a small change, my kids suggested that I put thier favorite apple in there so I put 2 Honey Crisp Apple and 2 Granny Smith. It does change the taste, but they eat it either way. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acedCole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States