Upside Down Caramel Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
This recipe looks just like one that my husband has been forever singing the praises of. He used to have something just like this at a restaurant that went out of business - so I'll try this and see how it turns out. Looks delicious - thanks Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
Overall this is a good recipe. However, the baking time was about 15 minutes too long. Had I left it as long as recommended, I would have totally burnt the pie. Also I would add way more apples next time. This ended up being a rather hollow pie when inverted. I would make this again though, just taking into considerations the above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBBEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
I think I'll stick with plain old apple pie next time. The pie crust dough (bottom layer that went over the brown sugar pecan mixture) didn't seem cooked enough. Too doughy when inverted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
I would say to all the people having problems with the bottom almost burning or overcooking/sticking to pan, I had the same problem, but I am sure it's because I melted the margarine in the pie plate before putting the pie together. I attributed the problem to the plate starting out warm and thus getting the bottom ingredients too warm to begin with. Melt the margarine in a separate dish and then mix it in a cold pie plate and continue with directions. I think you'll have better luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankclay, Missouri, USA
Living In: Antonia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
My friends and family just love this pie. This is the only way I will make a apple pie ever again it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
What a delicious pie! I'm anxious to make it again. Next time I will remember to place it on a cookie sheet to save oven clean up and plan for a shorter baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
This was very delicious, but I encountered a few problems in the making. When flipped upside-down, all the caramel and bottom pie crust got left behind, stuck to the pie plate. Next time I make this, I'll double the batch of caramel, and spray the pie plate with cooking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
My family including myself loved the way this tasted, but mine didn't turn out very pretty. I didn't remove it from the pan until the next day. That was a big no-no. It had glued itself to the pan. I reheated the pie in the microwave and was able to remove it. I also used canned apples instead of fresh and just added a little extra cinnamon and brown sugar to them. I also only cooked it for about 35-40 mins because my crust was already golden and I didn't have to worry about the apples being done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
This pie tasted OK but a good basic apple pie would be better. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
This was very tasty pie. The only problem was that we couldn't get the thing to invert out of the pie pan. So we just served it like regular pie. Still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States