Upside Down Caramel Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
This taste great!! I did as another reviewer said and lined the pan with tinfoil and sprayed that with nonstick cooking spray, I didn't have a problem with sticking at all. Just make sure that you invert the pan and remove the pie while it is still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gays Mills, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Blanchardville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I used to make this very pie, but lost the recipe. My husband has been begging me to try it again and I think I've found it. I used nut topping on mine instead of pecans, so the taste was more in line with a caramel apple we are all used to. As I recall, I sprayed the bottom of the pie pan before putting in the caramel, it did help a bit with sticking. Also, I left the pan on top for a bit longer after flipping...that helped, too. THanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Eielson Afb, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Overall this is a good recipe. I did lower the temperature to 375 degrees F as my oven tends to cook to hot anyway. Also, a somewhat shorter baking time was a must or it gets too brown. Oh, and be sure to not leave in the pan to cool for longer than 5 minutes. No, it's not that pretty, but vanilla ice cream on top will fix that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Keswick, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
As other reviews advised, this was not the best looking pie, but it sure did taste good! I doubled the amount of 'caramel' on the bottom, and also sprayed the plate with nonstick cooking spry before adding the caramel mix. Used my own apple pie recipe, for which there really is no recipe. Cooked it at a lower temperature about 375. I was excellent with vanilla ice cream! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: China Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Clair, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
This is just a note to others making this pie. I make a similar pie with peaches...and the best way to not have the pie stick to the plate is to line the pie plate with foil. Then coat the foil with a little butter before putting the caramel topping down. This saves a sticky pie pan and can prevent the pie from bubbling over as well. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
The time was way too long and the temperature WAY too high for this recipe. I almost burnt it and it is currently fused to my pie pan, not sure if I will ever get it clean again. I did like the idea of the pecans and would add them to apple pie in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
I tried this pie again and inverting it (after Greasing!!) made it look horribly ugly. I added more caramel also. The taste was excellent, but it is too ugly. I am going to try this again by cooking the caramel in a pot and drizzling over the pie afterwards, I think it will look much better, and be easier to handle. Thanks for the idea though! oh, and I didnt use pecans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
This was very tasty pie. The only problem was that we couldn't get the thing to invert out of the pie pan. So we just served it like regular pie. Still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
This pie tasted OK but a good basic apple pie would be better. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
My family including myself loved the way this tasted, but mine didn't turn out very pretty. I didn't remove it from the pan until the next day. That was a big no-no. It had glued itself to the pan. I reheated the pie in the microwave and was able to remove it. I also used canned apples instead of fresh and just added a little extra cinnamon and brown sugar to them. I also only cooked it for about 35-40 mins because my crust was already golden and I didn't have to worry about the apples being done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States