Updated Shepherds Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
this was really good !! as it was cooking i had my doubts. i added salt and pepper, and substituted PLAIN YOGURT for sour cream (much healthier) - the result was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I have made this several times and my family loves it! It's so easy and instead of making the mashed potatoes, I use Bob Evans Original mashed potatoes and it tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made this tonight and found it to be quite bland. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I love Shepherd's Pie, and this version was pretty good. Consistency was perfect; however, I must agree with other reviewers who commented that it was lacking in flavor. No salt or pepper in the ingredient list? I found that odd, especially considering that low-sodium broth is recommended (I used regular) and ketchup is quite sweet. I tasted the ground meat after it was cooked (I used lean ground pork), and I added both salt and pepper, as well as some Worcestershire, but the dish still ended up quite plain. I will make this again, as I am a huge fan of this "comfort food," but I will definitely add onions and garlic when cooking the ground meat, substitute tomato paste for the ketchup and add salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This was terrific, but I made a few changes since I'm on a low carb diet. Instead of potatoes, I boiled the garlic cloves with 3 large parsnips and 1/2 head of cauliflower. I also added a little ground black pepper on the finished product before sprinkling cheese on top. For veggies, I used approx. 1 cup of frozen peas and 1 cup of chopped fresh carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
It was easy and tasty. My family loved it. I sauteed galic and onion with the ground meat and added salt and pepper as well. I used the low fat sour cream and some 2% milk and 1/2 cup of finely shredded cheddar to the potatoes and mashed them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Floyd
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Great Recipe! Taste's delicious. It is easy to make as well. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Floyd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This is a very basic recipe so I added my own touch. I used salt and pepper, 1 1/2 tsp dry mustard,1 tsp garlic salt, 1/2 tsp coriander and 1/2 tsp fine herbs. I also sautéed the meat with 3/4 cup diced onins. To make life easier I also made instant potatoes in the microwave (adding more flakes than called for). I used low fat plain yogurt and 1 Tbsp low fat cream cheese in the potatoes. I'm sure if your making this recipe for a family you might keep it bland, but my husband and I enjoyed the additions I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Definitely quick and easy. I did season the meat with salt and pepper for some more flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I don't have a review, but a question. I'm considering making this dish, but since I'm out of ketchup, I'd like to use Mexican restaurant-style tomato salsa. Has anyone ever done this, and would you recommend I do the same? I suppose it would give it more of a Latin flavor, to which I am not opposed. Thanks for your suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Garden Ratatouille

See how to make cheesy baked chicken ratatouille with fresh garden herbs.

Fig Prosciutto Crostini

Easy, elegant appetizers are topped with fig jam, prosciutto, and Cheddar.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States