Updated Shepherds Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I have made this several times and my family loves it! It's so easy and instead of making the mashed potatoes, I use Bob Evans Original mashed potatoes and it tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
this was really good !! as it was cooking i had my doubts. i added salt and pepper, and substituted PLAIN YOGURT for sour cream (much healthier) - the result was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HelloTiffy
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
A little bit on the bland side but it was still very good. I added some Worcestershire and a little bit more ketchup to the mix. I plan to add garlic powder and maybe some onions next time to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This was fabulous! A one stop meal with full flavor and veggies to boot! Everyone enjoyed it, wasn't much left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by namtrah13

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made this tonight and found it to be quite bland. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I also found this to be rather bland, even after adding beef Flavor Boost and Worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I love Shepherd's Pie, and this version was pretty good. Consistency was perfect; however, I must agree with other reviewers who commented that it was lacking in flavor. No salt or pepper in the ingredient list? I found that odd, especially considering that low-sodium broth is recommended (I used regular) and ketchup is quite sweet. I tasted the ground meat after it was cooked (I used lean ground pork), and I added both salt and pepper, as well as some Worcestershire, but the dish still ended up quite plain. I will make this again, as I am a huge fan of this "comfort food," but I will definitely add onions and garlic when cooking the ground meat, substitute tomato paste for the ketchup and add salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This was terrific, but I made a few changes since I'm on a low carb diet. Instead of potatoes, I boiled the garlic cloves with 3 large parsnips and 1/2 head of cauliflower. I also added a little ground black pepper on the finished product before sprinkling cheese on top. For veggies, I used approx. 1 cup of frozen peas and 1 cup of chopped fresh carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I didn't use the sour cream but it was so delicious. Not one bite was left in the dish. My husband raved big time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This is a very basic recipe so I added my own touch. I used salt and pepper, 1 1/2 tsp dry mustard,1 tsp garlic salt, 1/2 tsp coriander and 1/2 tsp fine herbs. I also sautéed the meat with 3/4 cup diced onins. To make life easier I also made instant potatoes in the microwave (adding more flakes than called for). I used low fat plain yogurt and 1 Tbsp low fat cream cheese in the potatoes. I'm sure if your making this recipe for a family you might keep it bland, but my husband and I enjoyed the additions I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garden Ratatouille

See how to make cheesy baked chicken ratatouille with fresh garden herbs.

Fig Prosciutto Crostini

Easy, elegant appetizers are topped with fig jam, prosciutto, and Cheddar.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States