Unyeasted Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
The bread was very easy to make and turned out moist and subtly sweet. To make this recipe vegan, I substituted rice syrup for honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
This was a good, quick bread. Nice and dense and moist. Good with garlic butter of all things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Well, when I read this recipe I thought this sounds plain GROSS!! However I decided to try it anyway. I made some adjustments. I divided the recipe in half as if it turned out really bad I did not want to have wasted good food. First I used a gluten free mix which included bean flour. Second I used soy milk versus water and increased the quantity to one and a half cups. Third I used olive oil and increased the quantity to two tablespoons. Fourth I doubled the baking powder. I used aluminum free baking powder. IT TURNED OUT GREAT!!! No more super expensive gluten free breads for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Yummy! Hubby loves this, and has declared it his new favorite bread! Substituted spelt flour 1:1. Also mixed in seasonings (1/2 tsp each of sage, basil, oregano, rosemary). Baking Powder Substitute: for each teaspoon, give 1/4 teaspoon baking soda (aluminum-free), and whisked 1 1/2 teaspoon lemon juice (best) or white vinegar in with water. Used agave nectar instead of honey. Wonderful, moist, dense (but not packed) texture. Puffed up nicely in a glass 9x9 dish. Turned out soft with a slightly firm crust. Excellent with your favorite dip (we like hummus) or topping (icing, yum!), or fold in your favorite filler. We've used jam, dried fruit, veggies sauteed in water, or just some of your favorite seasonings. Quickest bread loaf I've ever made! This yeastless bread goes on the menu! Oh so versatile! Oh so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akeakamai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Family Loved ~ Quick and Easy, however, I did use canola oil in the recipe; spelt flour in exchange for the whole wheat; agave instead of honey, also reducing to 2T; and olive oil on the outside of the bread!! Thanks for sharing such a simple, yummy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naydeenie
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I am allergic to yeast, and this is the first recipe I've found that really tastes like real bread! We do substitute brown sugar for honey and use all purpose flour. I'm going to try it with only whole wheat flour also. We use this for everything, peanut butter and jelly, with meatballs, etc. It's WONDERFUL!! My husband said this is the closest alternative to yeast bread, and he likes it just the same! It's not too biscuit-like or dry or anything. Really great! Oh, and as a dessert with butter and sugar on top! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Didn't have any yeast and this recipe came up. I just made another four loaves and it came out better than the first time. Just a little too salty with 3 tsp - I cut it down to 1 1/2 tsp and it was fine. Can't say enough how much I love this bread. It will be a recipe I'll use for many years to come. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I made this for supper and it was so good. I love the texture--the crispier outside and soft middle. I am looking forward to trying this for breakfast with butter and jam. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Joy Park

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
way too salty - I cut down to 2 tsp. and still a tad too salty - I think I'll try 1 1/2 tsp. - bakes nicely - perfect directions - so much easier than yeast bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
So basically this is a biscuit recipe, made into loaves instead of biscuits. I might like my own personal favorite biscuit recipe better, but I was impressed with how well this turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States