Unstuffed Cabbage Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
LOVE LOVE this recipe. Followed a few suggested tweaks and voila, had yummy stuffed, er, unstuffed cabbages. Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitelotuskim

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I thought this was alright. I used lean beef and cut the salt back to a 1/2 tsp and pepper to 1/4 teaspoon. The sodium would have been astronomical otherwise. I even used low-sodium diced tomatoes too. I ended up sauteeing the onions, in about 1 tblsp of oil, to start softening them before adding the meat. To make the recipe easier I just used a 10oz bag of pre-chopped cabbage. That amount worked fine with the 1 lb of beef I only had. This recipe still seemed really burger heavy. Although, it was tons easier than boiling and rolling cabbage. I tasted it when done and it just didn't remind me exactly of stuffed cabbage. Since I had extra liquid due to only using 1 lb of beef at that point I added 3/4 of a cup of minute rice and turned the heat up and cooked it a little longer until the rice was cooked. That seemed to do the trick. Without the added rice and made as I did above I got 230 cal for 5 servings and 350 cal adding the rice. Either way, I think I will stick with the rolled cabbage. Maybe, it is the shaping that has caused the dish to be a classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Pretty much made as instructed. Used beef broth instead of water, then cooked quick brown rice seperately and mixed it in. Didn't have tomato sauce, so ran canned whole peeled tomatoes through the blender before adding, Added a touch of shredded cheddar before eating...yum. Best unrolled cabbage roll recipe that I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I have made this several times. Perfect for a low carb diet! I have at times, added 1/2 cup instant rice, to bulk it up a bit and then just added some additonal liquid for a great broth! Also, i tried a green bell pepper as well, gives it a stuffed pepper profile...This is a go to recipe for me!! thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This is in the final stages of simmering as I write this. I did adapt this slightly, but the end product is really tasty. I used beef stock rather than the water, a couple of beef bullion cubes, and a small amount of ground cumin and cayenne pepper for a little zing. The recipe is great as it stands, we just like a little more intense flavor. The added rice and water sound good,too, but I am limiting carbs right now...still yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Made this for dinner tonight and my husband & I both loved it! It cooked a total of 50 minutes. Hubby's taking some leftovers for lunch tomorrow and I'm sure it will be even better then. Followed advice to add paprika and also added some garlic pepper - used low sodium tomato soup and diced tomatoes. Served with mashed potatoes (with skins) and intentionally made them thicker than normal - spread potatoes along one side of large, shallow serving bowl and then cabbage mixture, and a slice of whole grain bread. Also served with sour cream on the side, a little bit goes a long way, but adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mamaonthego22
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Followed a lot of the suggestions, will use beef broth next time. Pretty quick and a one pot meal!! Yahoo for this mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Unstuffed Cabbage Roll Haiku: "Simple and yummy, ate with buttered egg noodles. Added just a bit." Made as directed only adding 1 tsp. Worcestshire, and 2 tsp. brown sugar. Comforting, filling, and with lots of leftovers for the next day, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I made this and ate the whole pot within a few days! It was amazing. I wasn't sure at first but I took a chance and was not disappointed. My Husband and 2 of my boys will not eat it though. I did not add any other grains to this. It was fine without the extra carbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Sargent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Tried and loved. Next time I will substitute cabbage for green pepper slices and hopefully...waalaa...unstuffed green peppers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States