Unstuffed Cabbage Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
To those wanting extra flavor, substitute 1 pound of your favorite breakfast sausage for half the the meat needed (1 part to 1 part). Mix evenly the sausage (Bob Evans for me) & the ground beef before browning & definitely drain off most of the fat. Leave a couple of tablespoons to saute the o&g, and follow the rest of the recipe. Personally I would add the tomato sauce after the o&g, and work the good flavorful bits in the bottom of the pot from the beef & sausage. Then add everything else including rice.(add 1 cup of water to 1 cup of rice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
The ingredients very sillier to mine, but mine calls for ALLSPICE, which I added to this one. B
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I liked it. Let it simmer for a bit longer than 30 minutes and served it with rice. My daughter turned me on to this culinary feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
The new family favorite, so much quicker than stuffed cabbage. A few changes--I used 1 small can of tomato paste instead of the tomato sauce, used only 1 pound of ground beef, and added 1 tsp of caraway seed and 2 tsp of paprika, which is in my grandma's stuffed cabbage recipe. Also added 3 peeled, diced potatoes. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Very good and healthy recipe as it stands - try ground turkey to lighten it a bit. I also like a bit more tomato sauce. Also a Tablespoon of red wine vinegar and a Tablespoon or two of brown sugar richens the sauce. Want a bit of exotic flavor? Add 2 whole cloves while simmering, then remove when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Uher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I love cabbage any way it is fixed. This recipe is great. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
My husband made this and we both really liked it. Quick easy and pretty economical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Since I grew up eating "holupchi", I found the recipe as is, quite good. Serving it over rice would certainly be reasonable and I did add apple cider vinegar and sugar for the sweet and sour taste of Eastern European cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Very good! Always a little hesitant in regards to recipes that look a little bland and "healthy" but this was a pleasant surprise. I did take the others advice and added 2 teaspoons of paprika. And because I love garlic I added an extra clove of garlic. I also let it simmer longer. I follow the recipe until it boiled and then I let it simmer for about 2 hours and it was quite delicious!!! I think that help bring out the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I made this using Boca recipe crumbles instead of ground beef for a vegetarian version. As suggested by other reviewers, I added 2 teaspoons of paprika. The cabbage, onion, and garlic make this a fabulous alkaline meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States