Unstuffed Cabbage Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
The only thing I did different was used ground turkey instead of ground beef because that's what I had, but I essentially always substitute beef for turkey with no problems, but this recipe in my opinion was on the tasteless bland side, don't know if had I used ground beef it would have been more flavorful. I shook some red pepper flakes on it to give it some more flavor. It wasn't horrible, and it was healthy, but overall I didn't care for it and won't be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Murphy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I enjoyed the fact that this recipe is basic and can be modified to fit the tastes of my family. I used a view ideas from reviews and we loved it and will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I added instant rice cooked in beef or chicken stock to make it a complete meal that needs nothing on the side. Delicious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ Brandesky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Great recipes as is. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This has become one of my all time favorite dinners to make. Of course, I have added a few changes to the base recipe (Some of which came from other's reviews). I use half ground turkey and half hot Italian sausage (Need to try hot Turkey sausage). I replace some of the water with balsamic vinegar. I throw some Siracha or tobassco sauce in there. I cube up a bunch of mushrooms and add them as well. A few tablespoons of brown sugar. I use tomatoes with Italian seasonings. Garlic is your friend. Been meaning to put some chopped up kale in to see what that's like. I think some chopped red bell pepper could work nicely as well. I cook it for at least an hour, if not an hour and a half. I'll then spoon it over a small bed of brown rice. Oh man, this stuff is gooooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I tried this with half beef (90/10) and half ground turkey. It was really good. My second recipe was 100 percent lean ground turkey. I found the half beef/turkey to have a bit more flavor. After it sits in refrigerator it gets better the next few days. I only altered the meat part as turkey is easier for me to digest. I like how easy it is to make. I used a large domed skillet and transferred to enamel coated stock pot since cabbage takes a while to reduce in volume. It made it easier to stir without making a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew M. Fritz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webster Groves, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I used fresh tomatoes... 3 qts and one can... and 3 spoonful's of sugar along with paprika (smoked and reg) and rice... It was a home run..... Hubby had THREE bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I made it as described (except substituting ground turkey for the beef, as I don't eat red meat), and found it watery and not that flavorful. So, I added 3 more cloves of lightly sauteed garlic, 1 tbs dried oregano, 1 tbs dried basil, a dash of ground red pepper, and 1 can of tomato paste, and let it simmer again. DELICIOUS! I was reheating it to eat for breakfast it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devon Zebrovious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Don't let the simple ingredients fool you. This recipe is as outstanding as it is easy. I took other reviewers' advice and added a little paprika and a teaspoon of Cajun seasoning. When serving it, I added some hot sauce to mine, but my husband ate it as is. He said that I could tell he loved it because he didn't have to add any salt to it! Just delicious. Oh, and I also added a couple tablespoonsful of bacon grease for some added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Scrumptious, I added some basil and a little bit of jalapeño, with jasmine rice. Really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States