Unstuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I cooked the rice and cabbage before putting it in the oven in order to cut down the baking time. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This is a great recipe, I did customize it a bit - I used bagged shredded cabbage and 1 can tomato soup and 1 can of stewed tomatos that I blended (because my kids wont eat it chunky). I also sauted garlic with the onions. De-lish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I made this a couple times thinking maybe I did something wrong. The tomato soup taste was too strong and it didn't seem like the cabbage cooked enough. My husband requested that I do not make this again. I like the idea of it and might try again when he won't be home for dinner lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Not bad, but I'd cut the cabbage down by half if I were to make it again. Also, I par-boiled it first after reading other reviewer's long cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I have been making this for years with a couple of tweaks (sorry, I know I hate it when people do it!). Instead of the soup I use a 26 ounce can of tomato sauce and 1 can of stewed tomato's. I use 2 cans of water and also about a 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I also use a green pepper and saute that with the onion and a little chopped garlic (I sometimes use ground chicken too!) We call it inside out stuffed cabbage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
love this recipe...have made several times now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Vegetarian version - Made a few changes based on what i had on hand: Used Boca crumbles intstead of beef, orzo instead of rice & creamy tomatoe soup. It is wonderful! So glad i tried this at the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Made this for dinner tonight. It's much more simple than cabbage rolls, but just as tasty. I was compelled to make some changes to blend this recipe with other similiar ones on this site. I did add 2 cups of water, instead of the 1...dissolved a beef bouillon cube in one of the cups of water and left out the salt in the recipe. Used brown rice instead of instant white rice. Added the rice and tomato soup to the ground beef and water in the saucepan and allowed it to boil covered for 15 min. to cook the rice. I substituted 1 can of tomato soup with 1 can of diced tomatoes. Used 1 lb. of ground beef instead of 1/2 lb. Added minced garlic, red pepper flakes, oregano, garlic powder and onion powder to the saucepan. Because so many reviewers reported crunchy cabbage, I sauted the cabbage in a small amount of butter til 1/2 cooked before adding everything to a 9x13 pan. Baked according to the instructions and added 1 cup of cheese to the top during the last 5 minutes, uncovered. I know I made many changes to the original recipe, but my end result was very good and will be made again in my household. Sometimes recipes are just a starting point to your own creativity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Basic, budget friendly dish. I followed other commenters suggestions of adding garlic and at least 1.5 cups of water. I combined hamburger-rice mixture, with chopped cabbage and liquid in a bowl then poured into baking dish-baked 1 hour 10 minutes then topped with cheese. I thought the recipe could use more seasoning--maybe basil? The dish is pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States