Unique Fruity Green Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
AMAZING SALAD... all the flavors work very well together. Just make sure to slice the onions real thin because they can be over powering. I decided to let them soak inside the dressing before pouring on the salad and it worked like a charm! Will make again, most def!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Awesome salad! I added a chopped green apple and added slightly less honey to the dressing. The dressing makes a lot - I only used half to toss the salad in. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Simply delicious. I did make a few omissions but it still came out great. I don't like canned mandarins, so I left those out, as well as the almonds just to cut back on the fat. I cut the dressing amount probably in half, eyeballing most ingredients, so it was dressed lightly. I think it would have been too oily if I had used the whole cup of oil. The banana worked surprisingly well in this salad. I will make it again, perhaps splurging on the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieFR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was a very tasty salad I tried for Easter. I didn't have an avocado available and I used a yellow onion instead of red - still very tasty. I like the ideas others had with other fruit options. I can see where they would be good in this salad as well. I agree that the salad dression could be cut down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Great salad!!! I was searching for something to do with grapefruit, bananas, or avocados. And I found it all in one. I took the advice from some of the comments about it being too sweet and things. But I only had a few things at the house. So instead of oranges I put grapefruit. I didn’t put the nuts, onions, or the poppy seeds (replaced them with mustard seeds) in the salad and it was wonderful! I also put a seasoned grilled chicken in the salad. YUM! Thanks I will be using this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penrod

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Vail, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Interesting combination and great as a starter for a grilled fish or steak meal. Had to cut back on the honey - away too sweet because it overpowered the salad itself. Also half the amount of dressing is enough - at least for us. Had to omit the bananas because of personal taste. Otherwise the salad itself is excellent. Always have to make some adjustments to suit oneself I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Got rave reviews on this recipe. It is very flexible. The changes I made: shortened the prep time by just using almonds to top the salad. Ommitted the bananas. Added nectarine, apple and grapes that I had on hand. Next time I will try decreasing the amount of oil, increasing the white vinegar a bit and using more dry mustard in the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I like all of these ingredients together, minus the bananas, but the dressing was way too sticky sweet for my taste. I added a few more TBSPS of vinegar to try to sharpen it up, but it was still too clingy and sweet for me. I'm sure there are some people who like this type of dressing though. If I made it again, I would trade the honey for a little bit of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aCookInLaQuintaCA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This is a great salad! I made it ahead of time for company, so I tossed the avocado and banana slices with some lemon juice so they wouldn't turn brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Grape Salad

This dessert salad is creamy with bursts of grape flavor.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States