Unique Fruity Green Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
This was a hit at our 4th of July party. Great flavors in a combination I would never have thought of myself. Methinks there may be a bit too much dressing, good as it is. I would toss maybe 2/3 at first and go from there. Also, I toasted the almonds. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
This is one of the best salads i have made so far. At first it seemed strange to add these ingrediants all together-my husband did not want to touch it-but once we tried this salad we loved it!! I get requests for this salad from ALL members of my family including the picky eaters and guests rave about this salad when they try it. It's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This is a great salad! I made it ahead of time for company, so I tossed the avocado and banana slices with some lemon juice so they wouldn't turn brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I like all of these ingredients together, minus the bananas, but the dressing was way too sticky sweet for my taste. I added a few more TBSPS of vinegar to try to sharpen it up, but it was still too clingy and sweet for me. I'm sure there are some people who like this type of dressing though. If I made it again, I would trade the honey for a little bit of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aCookInLaQuintaCA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Simply delicious. I did make a few omissions but it still came out great. I don't like canned mandarins, so I left those out, as well as the almonds just to cut back on the fat. I cut the dressing amount probably in half, eyeballing most ingredients, so it was dressed lightly. I think it would have been too oily if I had used the whole cup of oil. The banana worked surprisingly well in this salad. I will make it again, perhaps splurging on the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieFR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Got rave reviews on this recipe. It is very flexible. The changes I made: shortened the prep time by just using almonds to top the salad. Ommitted the bananas. Added nectarine, apple and grapes that I had on hand. Next time I will try decreasing the amount of oil, increasing the white vinegar a bit and using more dry mustard in the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This is really good indeed! I added some diced apple, and I left out the onion. The only thing I'd probably change next time is to leave out the banana (or slice it on top when served). They got rather mushy -- and brown. We all really liked this, though. The dressing is sooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
AMAZING SALAD... all the flavors work very well together. Just make sure to slice the onions real thin because they can be over powering. I decided to let them soak inside the dressing before pouring on the salad and it worked like a charm! Will make again, most def!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Awesome salad! I added a chopped green apple and added slightly less honey to the dressing. The dressing makes a lot - I only used half to toss the salad in. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was a very tasty salad I tried for Easter. I didn't have an avocado available and I used a yellow onion instead of red - still very tasty. I like the ideas others had with other fruit options. I can see where they would be good in this salad as well. I agree that the salad dression could be cut down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Green Grape Salad

This dessert salad is creamy with bursts of grape flavor.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States