Uncle Wynn's Bread Machine Rye Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I know my bread maker, so I followed the recipe except I used a full Tsp of yeast. What a beautiful loaf! What a great taste! TY Uncle Wynn for an outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smitty
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
this is a very good rye bread...tho i wanted to do it on the french cycle i did the dough thingy and baked it in the oven...i will post pics tho the bread spread...but it tasted like the best rye bread since a bakery...good stuff and will make it again...thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I really love this rye bread. I followed the recipe exactly except I increased the caraway seeds to 1 tablespoon and salt to 1 1/2 teaspoons. I used finely ground cornmeal as well. I love how the cornmeal made a crispy, chewy crust. I used the multi-grain setting on my bread machine and it turned out wonderful. It was light and not heavy or dense at all. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This is a great recipe! I have tried other rye bread recipes that were just so-so. Since I had no honey, I used light corn syrup, omitted the corn meal and used a half cup more bread flour. No wheat gluten on hand, either. The results were amazing! Next time I'll try the honey, or a dark corn syrup (would molasses work?). And I didn't use dark rye flour either! Improvise is my middle name...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2000
The best rye bread I ever made or tasted The flavor reminds me of the old world european rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I personally don't care for rye bread. The taste of carraway=blech for me. I made this loaf for my boyfriend (who adores it) and he is RAVING about it. This is definitely on the list of breads to make again :). He says 5 stars for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pianoducky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Fabulous! Great Flavor! Didn't make a single change. Used my Westbend bread maker on regular setting and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
If you're expecting a dense rye loaf, this is not it. This is more like a light rye sandwich bread -- moist and light and smells wonderful while baking! My husband was so anxious to have some, he nearly got his hand sliced as I was cutting it! :-) The only change I made was to use vegetable oil because I was out of olive oil. I baked it on Light Crust and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
My family liked this a lot. I'm making another loaf right now. It's great toasted with butter! This is a recipe I'll make many more times. The first time I made it, I was afraid the kids wouldn't like it. I was watching them (6 & 8) to see how they would like it, and they ate it up saying 'mmm'. It was not a super strong flavor...it was just right for us. I made it just as stated (perhaps added an extra 1/2 T honey) and it turned out wonderful. I used Hodgson Mill Rye flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Really, really good. I increased the caraway to one tablespoon and used the dough cycle. Baked in oven at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes. (Checked with instant read thermometer for doneness -- 190 to 200 degrees)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Mullaney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States