Uncle Wynn's Bread Machine Rye Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Although it had the general taste of rye bread, the crumb was very dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Pretty good rye bread! It's a tad dense, but not too heavy--I've eaten rye breads that are much heavier. Extremely easy as well with the bread machine as a helper, although I didn't bake it in the bread machine--I did the dough cycle and baked in the oven for 40 min at 375. Came out well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Without the caraway it would be 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I really love this rye bread. I followed the recipe exactly except I increased the caraway seeds to 1 tablespoon and salt to 1 1/2 teaspoons. I used finely ground cornmeal as well. I love how the cornmeal made a crispy, chewy crust. I used the multi-grain setting on my bread machine and it turned out wonderful. It was light and not heavy or dense at all. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Tried this recipe twice, a little too dense and heavy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This is a great recipe! I have tried other rye bread recipes that were just so-so. Since I had no honey, I used light corn syrup, omitted the corn meal and used a half cup more bread flour. No wheat gluten on hand, either. The results were amazing! Next time I'll try the honey, or a dark corn syrup (would molasses work?). And I didn't use dark rye flour either! Improvise is my middle name...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Really, really good. I increased the caraway to one tablespoon and used the dough cycle. Baked in oven at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes. (Checked with instant read thermometer for doneness -- 190 to 200 degrees)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Mullaney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
My family liked this a lot. I'm making another loaf right now. It's great toasted with butter! This is a recipe I'll make many more times. The first time I made it, I was afraid the kids wouldn't like it. I was watching them (6 & 8) to see how they would like it, and they ate it up saying 'mmm'. It was not a super strong flavor...it was just right for us. I made it just as stated (perhaps added an extra 1/2 T honey) and it turned out wonderful. I used Hodgson Mill Rye flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smitty
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
this is a very good rye bread...tho i wanted to do it on the french cycle i did the dough thingy and baked it in the oven...i will post pics tho the bread spread...but it tasted like the best rye bread since a bakery...good stuff and will make it again...thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I know my bread maker, so I followed the recipe except I used a full Tsp of yeast. What a beautiful loaf! What a great taste! TY Uncle Wynn for an outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States