Uncle Wynn's Bread Machine Rye Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
It was acceptable as bread goes, but didn't really have the taste and texture that I associate with rye bread. The honey and cornmeal contributed too strongly to the taste so that the rye and caraway became practically unnoticeable. I will look for a different rye bread recipe, and not continue to use this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmbarAngel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brockport, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Very good - used molasses instead of honey because that is what I had and seemed more traditional. Also didn't have any cornmeal so I used equal amounts of white and rye flour to make 1/2 cup. Cut recipe to 8 servings to use in my zojurushi 1 lb. breadmaker on regular cycle. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This turned out wonderful. My wife let me buy a bread machine! So far, I have not done anything but the basic setting of the machine. That is easy, only one press of one button and great results. Anything more would require reading the instructions and that I will never do that! I used a mortar and pestle to partially grind up some roasted sunflower seeds instead of caraway seeds one time and just skipped the next time. I ground them to make them the same size as unwanted caraway seeds. This was great for sandwiches, sliced thin very easy with an antique quality knife. This bread was best for the first four days then got dry and crumbly so the second time, after the bread cooled, I put half in the freezer. That worked fine with my ancient Tupperware.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Great recipe although I'm looking for some feedback on what setting I should have used for baking it in the machine. What's the "normal" setting on the machine...white? I used the French Bread setting but I was at a loss for what size loaf it should be - 1.0, 1.5 or 2.0? Also what crust to use - tried medium. Any advice out there? Tastes great but it came out looking a little scary but that could be I didn't have the correct settings and I am going to try less of the vital wheat gluten as someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as directed. Flavor and texture were excellent. The top did sink a bit. Next time I will use 2 T less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Best rye bread I have made. Hurray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Awesome recipe:) Did not put in caraway seed and substituted cornmeal with Multi grain bread flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Gingell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Was pretty good. I would bake it on a regular cycle next time because it was a little undercooked. Made great Ruben sandwiches and was good toasted with butter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is good stuff. I've been baking and eating this delicious rye bread for several weeks. It has helped to stabilize my blood sugar. I substitute wheat flour for the corn meal because it makes the bread lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Crowe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Very good, very easy to make, but like a number of others, the dough fell when the heat started. Was hoping for a light, airy, soft rye but I have yet to find one. Made exactly as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States