Uncle White's Bread Machine Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Yum SO good! I ended up adding a bit more buttermilk than called for (about 1-1/4 cup) because it appeared to be a little dry after my bread machine got it all mixed up. Also, next time I will just go ahead and add the oil with the rest of the wet ingredients into my machine before beginning the dough cycle. I don't see any point to adding it later. Instead of using a whole stick of butter I just melted about 2 Tbsp. and brushed it on with a pastry brush during and also after baking. Instead of rolls I chose to make the dough into a loaf by rolling it into a rectangle and rolling it up from the long side, tucking ends under. The result was beautiful! Sliced beautifully, smelled wonderful and tasted even better. I will definitely use for rolls next time I need them. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful
Photo by robograndma
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I was drawn to this recipe because of the buttermilk (needed to use some up) and the smaller amount of flour. I gave it five stars, because it fit just what I was looking for. Tried this for Sunday dinner.I was worried about the buttermilk not being warm when I started but it seemed to make no differance. I made only one change.I used brown sugar splenda blend; but will warm the milk, egg and oil next time and add togeather to see if it does.As Valerie did. I made smaller rolls about 24 as I was hoping to have some leftover for Monday's dinner will have to make more. Son and husband took them for a snack on the way to work and class. Now I have a use for buttermilk beyond ranch dressing and fried chicken. Thank you Musterdseed for a wonderfuly easy & tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robograndma
Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
WOW! WOW! I have been searching for the best recipe.....and this is it my friends! The only tweaking involved was getting rid of the brown sugar and using white sugar. I had to add a bit more flour, but I think that was personal preference. I also made them into "cloverleafs"(3 small dough balls) in each cup of the muffin tin.I let them rise most of the afternoon and kept brushing melted butter on top (butter kept absorbing into the dough). When they came out of the oven they were crispy on top and absolutely delicious! A total family pleaser...my 4 year old Daughter even ate them and she does not like bread at all. THANKS!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I made this recipe for my family, and they loved it! I don't have a bread machine, so I made the rolls by hand and they turned out great. We even had some for breakfast the next morning with jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Unfortunately mine did not turn out very well. I must admit I used whole wheat flour and mixed with hands instead of bread machine. So my review is not fair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tahoegirl
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
so easy and very soft. i added 4 tablespoons of vital gluten to the dry mix. i rolled into 3 balls and placed 3 per cupcake tin to have pull apart rolls. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
These were ok for us. They were very dense and I didn't get a good rise from them. My buttermilk was not heated or at room temp which I thought might have affected that. These still don't beat the taste of my personal favorite from this site. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I needed to use up some buttermilk when I found this recipe. They were very easy, from start to finish and came out beautifully. My husband absolutely LOVED them! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I thought these were awesome! My husband would have rated a 4 because he likes his rolls crunchy on the top and I could have made them that way but following the directions exactly-I loved how dense and soft these were. I used all-purpose since I couldn't find bread flour and I made my buttermilk since I didn't have any on hand and they still came out perfect. So excited to have found an easy and quick roll recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
These were very easy to make. I followed recipe as listed. I gave these 4 stars though because mine tasted a little saltier than expected, not sure if it was the salt or the buttermilk that did it, but to me it tasted more like a biscuit instead of a roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States