Uncle White's Bread Machine Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Wonderful flavor and full bodied texture. I brushed tops with leftover egg white and baked 18 minutes. These are my Thanksgiving dinner rolls for this afternoon -- THANKS! ******************************* Just baked a batch of these rolls that I'd put in the freezer. This time I brushed tops with butter when they came out of the oven. Much better than when I used egg white, as the crust is softer. (19 Jan)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This is my Daddy's (and therefore my favorite) recipe :) Great fluffy rolls, perfect at Thanksgiving or any meal you want to have an extra special, homemade touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Quite delicious and very easy. I subbed in 1 cup whole wheat flour and they came out very soft and tasty. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Ohhh, I SO enjoyed this bread! Regular ol' sliced bread works out better for our needs, so I made this into a loaf rather than rolls. Because I like less sweetness and more density in my breads I reduced the sugar to one tablespoon. I also used butter instead of oil, but that's no biggie either - I'm sure I would have been equally as happy with the canola oil (if, in fact, I ever used canola oil in the first place). I threw in a fair amount of fresh dill just for a flavor variation but this bread is just fine on its own. It's rich and flavorful, which I fully expected because of the egg yolk, buttermilk and brown sugar. It has a beautiful pale golden blush of color. Rolls or bread, this is a real winner - one of the better recipes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Wonderful! I just made these to use up some buttermilk I have. This will be my go to roll recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Currie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
wasn't impressed, not much flavor. other than using powered buttermilk, followed receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I used this recipe to use up an abundance of homegrown/made kefir milk. The rise was phenomenal - I almost didn't want to make the dough into rolls! I did need to increase the milk to close to 1 and 1/4 cups as another reviewer also did. My dough just looked too dry. I used the muffin tin for single rolls (will try clover ones next time). And I rubbed a cold stick of butter on top when they were done baking. Yummy! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Really delicious with a rich taste that makes you think they are full of fat but they're not! I even used fat free buttermilk and did not brush with butter. Instead I beat the unused egg white slightly and brushed it on the rolls before putting in the oven for a beautiful golden brown finish and nice crust. I did the cloverleaf style and they looked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
These were very easy to make. I followed recipe as listed. I gave these 4 stars though because mine tasted a little saltier than expected, not sure if it was the salt or the buttermilk that did it, but to me it tasted more like a biscuit instead of a roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I thought these were awesome! My husband would have rated a 4 because he likes his rolls crunchy on the top and I could have made them that way but following the directions exactly-I loved how dense and soft these were. I used all-purpose since I couldn't find bread flour and I made my buttermilk since I didn't have any on hand and they still came out perfect. So excited to have found an easy and quick roll recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States