Uncle White's Bread Machine Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Fabulous, silken dough, a dream to work with. The rolls are good. However, there's an elusive something missing from the flavor. After a bit of analysis, I believe that they're lacking that ever-so-slight sweetness the palate expects to taste in a dinner roll. Presumably, this is because the acidic contribution of the buttermilk serves to counteract and cancel out the sweetness of the sugar addition. It's quite possible that this could be improved by doubling the sugar - don't know. It falls short of the 5 star rating because Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls on this site produces the quintessential dinner roll, the touchstone against which all others are judged for me. If you make the two recipes side-by-side, you will understand there is absolutely no comparison. That said, this is a respectable alternative. Note: I also baked as a loaf, and the consensus is that it's more successful when baked in this manner. The lack of sweetness, which makes the flavor border on blandness in a roll, translates better into bread. The ideal backdrop for whatever meat and fixings you choose to place between the slices, its lovely, moist texture contributes to a memorable sammie. Sturdy enough to stand up to slicing, without crumbling. In fact, when I ate my sandwich, this bread was so moist that not a single crumb fell on the plate! Great for morning toast, as well. Baked in a 9"X5" loaf, I get 14 full slices and 2 heels. I always keep slices in the freezer. As bread 5 star, as rolls 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
followed the recipes exactly and roll were hard and dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSAINMI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
EXCELLENT! These rolls are easy, easy, easy, and so good! I used milk with 2 T white vinegar and let sit 10 -15 minutes in place of buttermilk since I didn't have any. I believe these would probably be even better had I used the buttermilk, but still produced a wonderful full flavor roll with this substitution. The dough was sticky and a bit tricky to shape into nice smooth topped rolls because of this, but I used a little bit of flour to help. Brushed tops with butter right after they came from oven. It produced a beautiful golden brown glossy topped dinner roll. Went perfectly with the two different potato soups we had for dinner. The recipe did not say to warm milk before adding to machine, but I did as I felt it needed to be in order to activate the yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
EXCELLENT ROLLS! Had some buttermilk to use up, so that made this recipe even more appealing to me. Made it just as written, except I accidentally added the oil in with all the other ingredients, but I don't really think that affected anything. The dough was a dream to shape...so silky and smooth and not sticky at all! This recipe made 12 beautiful, delicious rolls. They will go perfectly with our soup and salads tonight. I will definately be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I've made these twice now, both with excellent results. The second time around I didn't have any buttermilk but made a sustitute by mixing 1 cup of milk with 1 tablespoon of vinegar and letting the mixture sit for 5 minutes before adding to the bread machine. Both times I got great reviews from my family (in contrast to another roll recipe I tried which to this day haunts my reputation in the kitchen). Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Family prefers this recipe over Sweet Dinner Rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Wonderful flavor and full bodied texture. I brushed tops with leftover egg white and baked 18 minutes. These are my Thanksgiving dinner rolls for this afternoon -- THANKS! ******************************* Just baked a batch of these rolls that I'd put in the freezer. This time I brushed tops with butter when they came out of the oven. Much better than when I used egg white, as the crust is softer. (19 Jan)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This is my Daddy's (and therefore my favorite) recipe :) Great fluffy rolls, perfect at Thanksgiving or any meal you want to have an extra special, homemade touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Quite delicious and very easy. I subbed in 1 cup whole wheat flour and they came out very soft and tasty. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Ohhh, I SO enjoyed this bread! Regular ol' sliced bread works out better for our needs, so I made this into a loaf rather than rolls. Because I like less sweetness and more density in my breads I reduced the sugar to one tablespoon. I also used butter instead of oil, but that's no biggie either - I'm sure I would have been equally as happy with the canola oil (if, in fact, I ever used canola oil in the first place). I threw in a fair amount of fresh dill just for a flavor variation but this bread is just fine on its own. It's rich and flavorful, which I fully expected because of the egg yolk, buttermilk and brown sugar. It has a beautiful pale golden blush of color. Rolls or bread, this is a real winner - one of the better recipes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States