Uncle White's Bread Machine Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
fluffy and wonderful - i brushed the tops with the leftover egg white to make them even prettier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Absolutly incredibly, thank you so so so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nvmommyx6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Photo by CPA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Added oil with other ingredients. 325 convection 13 minutes. Brushed with melted butter/garlic mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Sorry, did not care for these rolls. The dough was fabulous to work with, but the rolls were tasteless. Don't know if it's because I'm not used to cooking with kosher salt or what, but my family and I didn't care for the taste (or lack thereof).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heff76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gregory, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
amazing!!! we make these like once a week and always have to make extra because if not we fight over the last one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I wanted rolls to go with dinner and had buttermilk to use up so this was the perfect recipe. The rolls turned out great. They have a great tangy taste from the buttermilk which I enjoy because they're not overly sweet. I didn't change a thing with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Fabulous, silken dough, a dream to work with. The rolls are good. However, there's an elusive something missing from the flavor. After a bit of analysis, I believe that they're lacking that ever-so-slight sweetness the palate expects to taste in a dinner roll. Presumably, this is because the acidic contribution of the buttermilk serves to counteract and cancel out the sweetness of the sugar addition. It's quite possible that this could be improved by doubling the sugar - don't know. It falls short of the 5 star rating because Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls on this site produces the quintessential dinner roll, the touchstone against which all others are judged for me. If you make the two recipes side-by-side, you will understand there is absolutely no comparison. That said, this is a respectable alternative. Note: I also baked as a loaf, and the consensus is that it's more successful when baked in this manner. The lack of sweetness, which makes the flavor border on blandness in a roll, translates better into bread. The ideal backdrop for whatever meat and fixings you choose to place between the slices, its lovely, moist texture contributes to a memorable sammie. Sturdy enough to stand up to slicing, without crumbling. In fact, when I ate my sandwich, this bread was so moist that not a single crumb fell on the plate! Great for morning toast, as well. Baked in a 9"X5" loaf, I get 14 full slices and 2 heels. I always keep slices in the freezer. As bread 5 star, as rolls 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
followed the recipes exactly and roll were hard and dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSAINMI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
EXCELLENT! These rolls are easy, easy, easy, and so good! I used milk with 2 T white vinegar and let sit 10 -15 minutes in place of buttermilk since I didn't have any. I believe these would probably be even better had I used the buttermilk, but still produced a wonderful full flavor roll with this substitution. The dough was sticky and a bit tricky to shape into nice smooth topped rolls because of this, but I used a little bit of flour to help. Brushed tops with butter right after they came from oven. It produced a beautiful golden brown glossy topped dinner roll. Went perfectly with the two different potato soups we had for dinner. The recipe did not say to warm milk before adding to machine, but I did as I felt it needed to be in order to activate the yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
EXCELLENT ROLLS! Had some buttermilk to use up, so that made this recipe even more appealing to me. Made it just as written, except I accidentally added the oil in with all the other ingredients, but I don't really think that affected anything. The dough was a dream to shape...so silky and smooth and not sticky at all! This recipe made 12 beautiful, delicious rolls. They will go perfectly with our soup and salads tonight. I will definately be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States