Uncle Terry Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
My family and I enjoyed this recipe. I baked the chuck roast in the marinade in the oven for two hours (covered with foil). I then skimmed the fat off of the marinade, thickened it using cornstarch, and served it over noodles. The chuck roast I used wasn't tough at all -- maybe because I marinaded the roast for approximately 20 hours prior to baking. I'll make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2000
Pretty good. The marinade really tenderized the meat. Made a good barbecue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
This is a very tasty marinade that deserves a better cut of meat, as it does not tenderize very well. I will definatly try this again, just probably on a new york strip for a much shorter marinade time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
The flavor of this is wonderful BUT I cannot imagining that this thing would ever get cooked on a grill in that short of time. I marinated my roast for almost 48 hours, then grilled it in a grill pan for 45 minutes and it wasn't even close to being reddish/pink in the middle, still raw. So I put it in the oven for 1 hour and 20 minutes and then it turned out perfect! Although it was after 9:00 pm when it was finally done, we wrapped it up and will be eating it again tonight. The marinade was great, it would be fabulous too on a different cut of meat(perhaps london broil or steaks) that are usually prepared on a grill. I will stick with perhaps marinading actual roasts and baking them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
This turned out absolutely delicious. We had to struggle a bit with the time because of living in Colorado. Here, we had a 3 lb chuck roast and cooked in for 15 minutes per side. I will do this many more times. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
The meat was very tough, but flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
I prepared this for the family I nanny for, they ate the whole roast and said it was delicious! I actually marinated it and then baked it in the oven for about 3 hours instead of grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
I have tried this with both chuck roast and top sirloin. Both were very good, and got raves from our guests. I prefer the top sirloin, since we seldom need to feed 8 and, of course, it is more tender. You can also marinate it for a shorter time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
This marinade was delicious; however, next time I will use a more tender cut of meat. Thanks for sharing! Ü
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
Family enjoyed tasty marinade but preferred sirloin roast over chuck. Easy for grill or oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States