Uncle Howie's Favorite Artichoke Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I was looking for an artichoke dip recipe without parmesan cheese. I tried this one, but since I didn't have all the ingredients I changed it up a bit. I used monterey jack cheese (instead of swiss) and sweet onion (instead of green) and omitted the red peppers. I also added some salt, pepper and a couple of dashes of tabasco sauce. I heated the dip in the oven at 350 for about 15 min. It turned out pretty good. I would double the garlic and add a few more drops of tabasco next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I couldn't find marinated artichokes anywhere in my local grocery store so I used a 14 oz can of whole artichoke hearts. I halved the yellow bell pepper I had on hand as it was HUGE and I had concerns it would overpower the dish to be 'Uncle Howe's Favorite Bell Pepper with a bit of Artichoke Dip'. I also sauteed the onion, bell pepper and garlic a bit just to make sure nothing overwhelmed the artichoke taste. After letting it sit cold in the fridge it tasted too much of mayo, so I tossed it in the oven as the description above states. SO MUCH BETTER. I added a dash of nutmeg, pepper AND lemon pepper then I topped it with more Swiss cheese before finishing it in the broiler. The dish was all but licked clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I have made this recipe over and over and over, and everyone RAVES about it. I do add a few extra cloves of garlic and have been known to use hot sauce in it from time to time. I also have used low fat cream cheese and mayo and it is still excellent. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Great recipe! I added a little more cheese and then added the juice from the jar of artichokes to give it a little more flavor. Then I added salt and pepper. I am taking this to a party so I won't, but I believe adding tobasco sauce would be awesome to add a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Fantastic dip! I served it with homemade crostini, which was perfect. I will definitely serve this to company again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This was the hit of the party! I left out the bell peppers and the green onion b/c I didn't have them on hand. I also split this into two small dishes, so I could put out one at a time. I put them in the oven for 15 minutes to warm through, and they came out with a beautiful golden top. Served with crackers, and people couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
I served it cold because I was looking for a recipe to avoid turning on the oven during the summer. In place of the temperature heat, I added a couple of teaspoons of hot sauce to the recipe to give it a zing and it did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
It was good. Not too complicated to assemble. I didn't have any green onions so I just added a few extra dashes of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I'VE MADE THIS TWICE AND IT'S ALWAYS A HIT I CAN'T BELIEVE NOBODY HAS SOME HOW PACKAGED THIS UP TO SELL, I THINK IT'S THAT GOOD!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
My family LOVES this dip- I like to double the garlic- for an extra zing! Very easy to make. I made it for a party and had several friends and family ask me for the recipe. This dish is now at every gathering we have- Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Broccoli and Artichoke Party Dip

Get the holidays going with a hot and bubbly party dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States