Uncle Dick's Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Excellent recipe, and a great time saver. Love the story too, well worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This was okay, but it didn't have quite as much flavor as I was hoping it would have, despite the fact that I (thankfully) used one whole clove of garlic even though I halved the recipe. However, maybe it having not too strong of a flavor is a good thing so it doesn't clash with the main dish. Also, it was a bit dry, even though I used more melted butter on top than what is called for. My husband, however, really liked it (hence, the four stars). But when I make it again, I think I'll increase the sour cream and/or creamed cheese a bit and maybe also add some shredded cheddar either in the mixture itself or on top. Hopefully that will help boost the flavor a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I made these potatoes during the holidays and got so many compliments on them. One guest made it a point to tell me he didn't even care for mashed potatoes (not sure how), but said these were awesome and had to go back for seconds. Didn't change anything in the recipe - did exactly as directed. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nic.nic_inc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris Odom
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Kids loved it. I should have made more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Odom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Wow. My family loved this for Thanksgiving Dinner. We made it twice in one weekend. I made it the day before and warmed it for dinner. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Denise - thanks to you and your husband's aunt for sharing this recipe. I made it for Thanksgiving dinner and everyone loved it! A lot of mashed potato recipes are bland or watery, but these had plenty of flavor and body. These were definitely some of the best mashed potatoes I've ever had. (Used low fat cream cheese.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Family absolutely loved these. Well worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I try to do as much advance preparation as I can for the time-consuming tradtional Thanksgiving dinner. This is one that ranks right up there with the best mashed potatoes I've ever had, and it actually instructs you to refrigerate overnight. Is that convenient or what? Out of the fridge, into the oven, and you have a mashed potato casserole that will WOW everybody. Really, although very simple and basic, it is that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I am in total agreement with naples34102's review! These are excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
There is absolutely nothing new, different or unusual about this recipe. Then somebody please tell me why these were some of the best darned mashed potatoes I've ever had! I mean all I did was add a little butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States