Uncle Dick's Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Oh my gosh! What a difference it makes by letting these potatoes sit in fridge overnight, then baking. I have a friend who makes these potatoes and serves immediately. These were so much better! I'm sorry for the loss of Uncle Dick, but thankful his wife passed on this recipe. Please people make this as written, these are AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I always cook extra potatoes this way and freeze any leftovers for another day. It is not necessary to keep in fridge overnight or even bake them, just add the butter & a little cream as you mix them up. If you like smaller portions, freeze them in muffin tins for quicker heat-up in microwave. Time saving for the dish that is a must with lots of meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I have made mashed potatoes like this for years, they are awesome. You can also make them ahead of time and cover them well after they have cooled and freeze them. They taste just as good as if you just made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Delicious and simple! I leave the skins on my potatoes, and I added some sharp cheddar (shredded) into the mash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Excellent recipe, and a great time saver. Love the story too, well worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This was okay, but it didn't have quite as much flavor as I was hoping it would have, despite the fact that I (thankfully) used one whole clove of garlic even though I halved the recipe. However, maybe it having not too strong of a flavor is a good thing so it doesn't clash with the main dish. Also, it was a bit dry, even though I used more melted butter on top than what is called for. My husband, however, really liked it (hence, the four stars). But when I make it again, I think I'll increase the sour cream and/or creamed cheese a bit and maybe also add some shredded cheddar either in the mixture itself or on top. Hopefully that will help boost the flavor a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I made these potatoes during the holidays and got so many compliments on them. One guest made it a point to tell me he didn't even care for mashed potatoes (not sure how), but said these were awesome and had to go back for seconds. Didn't change anything in the recipe - did exactly as directed. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nic.nic_inc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris Odom
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Kids loved it. I should have made more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Odom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Wow. My family loved this for Thanksgiving Dinner. We made it twice in one weekend. I made it the day before and warmed it for dinner. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Denise - thanks to you and your husband's aunt for sharing this recipe. I made it for Thanksgiving dinner and everyone loved it! A lot of mashed potato recipes are bland or watery, but these had plenty of flavor and body. These were definitely some of the best mashed potatoes I've ever had. (Used low fat cream cheese.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States