Uncle Dank's Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Very tasty. I used the dark meat from the Easter turkey and used the turkey bones to make a rich stock. I used a good quality spicy smoked sausage. I didn't feel like deveining the cleaning all those shrimp, so I left them out, but I'm sure they would be a delicious addition. Also, I left out the okra. My Louisiana born father was pretty skeptical of my adjustments to the recipe, but I figure gumbo is one of those one-pot dishes where you just use what you have on hand, right? It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
First time ever trying to make Gumbo and I was surprised by the outcome! I was worried by the light color, but when we began eating the color didn't matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Excellent!! I used smoked/spicy Polish sausage as my husband isn't overly fond of andouille sausage. Didn't have fresh herbs, so just used dried instead, worked fine. Fried three large chicken quarters with the skin on, this gave me plenty of grease with which to make my roux. Before adding the chicken to the pot I removed the skin and used my hands to tear it into chunks. Adding file powder at the end adds quite a bit of flavor, I would recommend using it, even though it is an optional ingredient. Thanks for this recipe, I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This is the best!It looks like alot of work but it goes together easily. I used cooked and peeled shrimp, omitted the file powder and chicken, but used fresh frozen cod cut into chunks. It was delicious even before adding the seafood (just in case your tribe doesn't like fishies). Also, you need to saute the vegies in a couple of batches, it just does't fit all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This is a nice way of a simple gumbo needed quick in a hurry! Flavor is wonderful. I added OLD SPICE from McCormicks seasonings. A recipe to save.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dwayne Xavier Bull

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
For those of you that think okra is just a thickening agent, look up the word "gumbo" in a dictionary and you will find it means "okra" in the first 2 listings. If you don't have okra in gumbo, all you have is a soup, not real gumbo. Also the Creole file' is added at the last. It provides a delicate flavor and is the thickening agent. This receipe makes great GUMBO and let the okra naysayers have their SOUP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I'll give this 4 stars because I've never had gumbo before. Somehow I think there should be tomatoes and corn in here, but like I said I wouldn't know. However, this is an excellent recipe everyone who eats this stew loves it. Took it to the office and almost was beat up by a co-worker who wanted my lunch. For the sausage I have to substitute chorizo which I guess is okay since its a hard sausage, hopefully one day I will get authentic. I also put the shrimp in at the end and cut the fire off since overcooked shrimp tastes like...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GETVICTD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I loved this recipe. Making the roux was time-consuming, but very worth it. I might add more vegetables next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I had to add quite a bit more salt to this recipe, and then it was very tasty. I think some crab meat would have made it much better. Also, I had trouble getting the roux to darken enough. After 45 minutes I just continued with the rest of the recipe even though the roux was still very light brown. Using the Andouille sausage really makes a difference in the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lara Gray Maxwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This is the real deal. My first time for makeing "gumbo". Wish me luck. Luck Dallas TX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States