Uncle Dank's Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
My husband and all his friends are from the south, and we are military so they all miss home cooked food. I was nervous, I've never made gumbo before. needless to say they loved this! I made it for a cookout, along with fried fish, ribs, burgers, baked beans, baked mac & cheese, and home-made cornbread! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Simply amazing! I am from New Orleans and this is the closest I've gotten to a true gumbo! I couldnt get the roux as dark as I wanted but it was still delicious! I added a bay leaf and some creole seasoning! Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie3400

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Thanks mrboejangles for this recipe. I made this last night for my family and they loved it. I hate when people do this BUT did add an ingrediant - and that was some crab boil seasoning. This recipe was great flavorful and filling. I will add this to my archives and make again soon. Happy eating!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Added a dash of my special hot sauce from Gladys' Cafe in St. Thomas and this recipe was AWESOME!! Made it as 6 servings instead of 10. Have to pay attention since the written directions are still for 10 servings. Almost got me once, but caught myself just in time. Don't want a watery gumbo!! Added both okra and file and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This has become my go-to gumbo recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I used this recipe to make my very first Gumbo and I must say it is spectacular! Friends and family gobbled it up. This recipe has earned a spot in regular rotation at my house. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarence Williams

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Winnetka, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I made this for some friends that had never eaten Gumbo before. It was a hit!! I used home made Cajun seasoning to spice it up more and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Very tasty. I used the dark meat from the Easter turkey and used the turkey bones to make a rich stock. I used a good quality spicy smoked sausage. I didn't feel like deveining the cleaning all those shrimp, so I left them out, but I'm sure they would be a delicious addition. Also, I left out the okra. My Louisiana born father was pretty skeptical of my adjustments to the recipe, but I figure gumbo is one of those one-pot dishes where you just use what you have on hand, right? It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
First time ever trying to make Gumbo and I was surprised by the outcome! I was worried by the light color, but when we began eating the color didn't matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Excellent!! I used smoked/spicy Polish sausage as my husband isn't overly fond of andouille sausage. Didn't have fresh herbs, so just used dried instead, worked fine. Fried three large chicken quarters with the skin on, this gave me plenty of grease with which to make my roux. Before adding the chicken to the pot I removed the skin and used my hands to tear it into chunks. Adding file powder at the end adds quite a bit of flavor, I would recommend using it, even though it is an optional ingredient. Thanks for this recipe, I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States