Uncle Dank's Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This came out sooooo very good but I probably would only make it a couple times per year since it takes so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is a great recipe to use as a base and easy to change up. I made it using mainly Fletchers meats for a Seattle Seahawks Tailgate and got tons of compliments. I cut open brats and used the insides instead of sausage. I also added bacon. I made the roux out of the grease from the brat meat and bacon. However, I ran out of time to brown the roux as much as I would have liked, but it still tased great. I then added cut up Doubble Smoked Sausages & Hot Link Sausages, the meat from a rotisary chicken & shrimp. There was just enough kick to satisfy everyone who ate it. If you love spice, you can always add more. This is a keeper and don't be afraid to mix up the meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Followed recipe exactly. This is a family favorite, but takes long enough that I only make it for special occasions. Totally worth the effort though, and even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This was my first time using this recipe and I thought it turned out well. I added crab to mine and a little creole seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Was good but needs seasoning. I prefer Merwin's Shrimp Gumobo (also on this site). Merwin's needs more seasoning as well but I liked his method of throwing the chicken in the pot, bones and all. I got more chicken off the bone that way. The two recipes taste nearly the same, I just prefer Merwin's method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lysa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I have wanted to try gumbo since our trip to New Orleans. This was my first try and it was definitely worth the time and effort. The roux worked out very well despite the negative comments of some, nice deep brown and tons of flavor with the 30 minute stir. I also threw in some small scallops. My only change for next time would be a bit more spice, it wasn't quite spicy enough. But a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdeppel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I made this gumbo last night and I must say it was delicious. I added crab meat and I got so many compliments from my coworker! Family loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Super-tasty recipe. My husband is allergic to chicken, so I replaced the chicken thighs with boneless country-style ribs, and the broth with vegetable bullion. Next time I'll try with the suggestion of fresh crab meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Making the roux was time-consuming, but was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
awesome. made it true to recipe with the addition of crushed red pepper. kids ate it up! definitely will make a again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States