Uncle Dank's Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This is a great recipe the only changes I made was to add crab and 2Tbls butter to make roux keep the fire low and it will get brown in the 30 min. Also cook veg until they are soft not brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark S. Kazanoff
Home Town: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Sorry about one star - I was actually trying to rate different recipe the did not have file, andouille sausage or okra in it. This one has all the right ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This was delicious! The only additions I made were about half a can of tomato paste, a shot of Kitchen Bouquet and some Italian seasoning. I cooked on the stove (except for the shrimp) and then added it to the crock pot to simmer for 3 hours. About 40 minutes before serving, I added the shrimp and kept checking on it to make sure they didn't get overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Great recipe! Taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was pretty good. I think I need to improve my technique though - my roux wasn't as dark as I think it coulda been but I was afraid of burning it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
We found this recipe to be very bland. No amount of heat can improve flavour and this recipe lacks flavour. I used mild smoked sausage, Okra unfortunately wasn't available anywhere so I omitted that too. Otherwise I followed the directions. I doubt Okra would improve this enough to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela MacDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I have tried many a pot of Gumbo, but this is the only one I will eat! I have made this recipe several times, today for a pot luck. It was rated "Pot Lickin' Good" by all. The only thing I will change next time is to decrease the oil to brown the chicken and make the roux. In fact, next time I may try either baking or making the roux in the microwave. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing! Thanks for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I've made this a couple times now and here's what I change: I add a package of bacon, omit the shrimp, and keep all of the meat's grease and oil, which is about a quarter extra cup of oil as well as flour you'll have to add. It'll give you more roux but it'll also be much richer and darker and give the whole gumbo a ton more flavor. I also add quadruple the hot sauce and add it a step before so it makes it's rounds through the whole gumbo more. Make this regularly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
First cooking this and turned out great!!! Did not add the shrimp only because my sister is allergic...next I will add shrimp if I am only cooking at my house...Love it...a must try recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This Is an winner for my family.Its An keeper in the family.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States