Uncle Dank's Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
6th line down: 1 lb okra... This is the real deal. It takes for-freakin'-ever to make, but it's worth it. Make a double batch if you've got a pot big enough. It won't last. YUMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
My family and friends raved over this recipe. I also added fresh crab. Very easy to make. My friends and family called the next day asking for the recipe. I did not use the gumbo felit and it was just as good. Will make again real soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I have never seen a light colored gumbo before, but this was one of the best I have ever made. I added crabmeat for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Very good taste! Made a few modifications, but other than that it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mannington, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
Instead of the spices, I added three tablespoons Zatarain's creole seasoning. Gave it just enough spice. It turned out fabulous! Definetly will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This recipe was great. Everyone raved. My kids keep coming back for more! I added crab meat as well. Will definitely make again. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STORMI_O
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This was wonderful. I saved some time by using a premade roux. It was so easy to make and delisious. I will make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMI_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Tekamah, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This is the best!It looks like alot of work but it goes together easily. I used cooked and peeled shrimp, omitted the file powder and chicken, but used fresh frozen cod cut into chunks. It was delicious even before adding the seafood (just in case your tribe doesn't like fishies). Also, you need to saute the vegies in a couple of batches, it just does't fit all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Excellent!! I used smoked/spicy Polish sausage as my husband isn't overly fond of andouille sausage. Didn't have fresh herbs, so just used dried instead, worked fine. Fried three large chicken quarters with the skin on, this gave me plenty of grease with which to make my roux. Before adding the chicken to the pot I removed the skin and used my hands to tear it into chunks. Adding file powder at the end adds quite a bit of flavor, I would recommend using it, even though it is an optional ingredient. Thanks for this recipe, I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
First time ever trying to make Gumbo and I was surprised by the outcome! I was worried by the light color, but when we began eating the color didn't matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States