Uncle Dank's Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I gave this only three stars because while I enjoyed it... it didn't knock my socks off like other gumbos I've had in the past. Here are some things I'd like to note about this recipe: 1. This recipe has okra in it, which is actually considered a thickening agent. (Not just a vegetable.) File (Fee-lay) powder is supposed to be a replacement for okra in the off season. It isn't bad that this recipe has both... just something I thought I'd note. BTW I'm no expert on gumbo I just read this info on several websites while trying to find a recipe. 2. You can't really make the vegetables "golden brown" as the recipe states. This might be obvious to some, but I found it irritating. You just cook the veggies until they're soft, or when the onions are all translucent. 3. I prefer a darker roux but I'm not sure how to make it darker. Some of the other recipes call for 2 cups of beef broth, and only 4 of chicken. Maybe this makes the broth darker the way I liked it when I had it before. 3. Part of what I like about traditional gumbo is that the chicken is usually on the bone, and there are still tails on the shrimp... I recommend buying a big bag of wings and using that in the recipe instead of boneless thighs. (Which I assume is what the recipe wanted but didn't clarify.) Mini drumsticks would be good too. 4. If you're worried about not having enough fat for the roux... don't drain the sausage fat and just add a little more flour. It says 1/4 cup of flour, but you can just eyeball
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pseudolife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
6th line down: 1 lb okra... This is the real deal. It takes for-freakin'-ever to make, but it's worth it. Make a double batch if you've got a pot big enough. It won't last. YUMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
My family and friends raved over this recipe. I also added fresh crab. Very easy to make. My friends and family called the next day asking for the recipe. I did not use the gumbo felit and it was just as good. Will make again real soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
Instead of the spices, I added three tablespoons Zatarain's creole seasoning. Gave it just enough spice. It turned out fabulous! Definetly will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Excellent!! I used smoked/spicy Polish sausage as my husband isn't overly fond of andouille sausage. Didn't have fresh herbs, so just used dried instead, worked fine. Fried three large chicken quarters with the skin on, this gave me plenty of grease with which to make my roux. Before adding the chicken to the pot I removed the skin and used my hands to tear it into chunks. Adding file powder at the end adds quite a bit of flavor, I would recommend using it, even though it is an optional ingredient. Thanks for this recipe, I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This recipe was great. Everyone raved. My kids keep coming back for more! I added crab meat as well. Will definitely make again. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This recipe was a nightmare for me. There wasn't enough fat to make the roux. I'm not experienced in making roux so my improvisation didn't work well either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cherokee Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STORMI_O
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This was wonderful. I saved some time by using a premade roux. It was so easy to make and delisious. I will make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMI_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Tekamah, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I have never seen a light colored gumbo before, but this was one of the best I have ever made. I added crabmeat for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Would have given this recipe 5 stars, but you cant have gumbo without okra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States